University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, March 11, 2008 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


2008 President's Diversity Award nominations
Nominations for the 2008 President's Diversity Awards need to be submitted by Friday, March 14. The award honors those in the university community who have helped to make CU more culturally diverse, competent and inclusive. Up to four awards of $1,000 will be given and recipients' names will be published in the Silver & Gold Record. Visit the award website for nomination details. Send in completed materials to Rae Ann Armijo.

CU GOLD student leadership award nominations
CU GOLD is now accepting nominations for its annual recognition reception. Awards will be given for Rising Star, Outstanding Student Voice, Integrity, Lasting Legacy, Student Organization of the Year and Supportive Staff Member of the Year. Submit typed nomination statements of 500 words or less to by March 21. Visit the CU GOLD website for award descriptions and details about nomination criteria.

Professors chosen as Fellows of the American Geophysical Union
Professors Jeffrey Forbes, Steven Nerem and Mihaly Horanyi have been elected 2008 Fellows of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). AGU is a global organization that annually recognizes members who accomplish great services for science and the community. Forbes, a professor in the College of Engineering, earned acknowledgement through his work in upper atmospheric physics and comparative studies of planetary atmospheres. College of Engineering Professor Nerem was noted for his research in satellite geodesy and his involvement in the global determination of sea-level change. Horanyi, a professor of physics, was acknowledged for studies of the physical processes contributing to the solar system's shape.

CU delegation attends NSBP/NSHP meeting in Washington, D.C.
The CU physics department sent its third delegation to the 2008 joint annual conference of the National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP) and National Society of Hispanic Physicists (NSHP) in Washington, D.C., Feb. 24. CU's delegation included two staff members: Anjanette Mapp, graduate and outreach coordinator in the physics department and Kaarin Goncz, director of education in JILA's EUV Center. Six students accompanied them and two received awards for their research presentations at the joint meeting: Dennis Gardner, junior, physics won a second place prize in the photonics division and Portia Wolf, senior, astrophysics won an honorable mention third prize in the overall undergraduate division. Support of the delegation included Colorado Diversity Initiative, the Alliance for Graduate Education in the Professoriate and the Office of Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement.

Concerns raised by Campus Press opinion piece generate dialogue, action

Going the extra mile to help students afford higher education

Student Perspective: Amy Harris brings social justice to the Environmental Center

People Behind the Scenes

From the Chancellor

The Boulder Faculty Assembly looks to the future

News Center
Dust In West Up 500 Percent In Two Centuries, According to New Study Led By CU-Boulder

CU-Boulder Awarded $1 Million From USDA, DOE For Solar-Thermal Biomass-To-Gas Conversion Project

Cruising for Carbon

More News>>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map