University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, February 26, 2008 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Jacquelyn Sullivan appointed associate dean for student cultivation
Faculty member Jacquelyn Sullivan was selected as associate dean for student cultivation in the College of Engineering and Applied Science on Feb. 1. The position was recently created to enhance leadership and motivation in K-12 schools throughout Colorado in order to prepare students for further education in engineering and applied sciences. Sullivan was chosen based on her work toward the formation of the Integrated Teaching and Learning Program (ITL) and her help in creating the TeachEngineering digital library, a resource for K-12 teachers nationwide sponsored by the National Science Foundation. For more information, see the press release.

Bernard Amadei elected to join the National Academy of Engineering
Bernard Amadei, professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering, has been elected to join the National Academy of Engineering. The invitation is one of the highest professional accomplishments for an engineer and was announced Feb. 8. The Academy pays tribute to those who have added greatly to the practice, education and research of engineering as well as the development and advancements of traditional engineering. Amadei received the honor for founding the nonprofit organization Engineers Without Borders. For more information visit the National Academy of Engineering website.

Presidential Award for exemplary student community service
CU-Boulder received the Presidential Award for exemplary student community service at the 90th annual meeting of American Council of Education in San Diego, Feb. 9-12. Out of 530 universities and colleges that competed, CU was one of three schools nationwide to receive the certificate from the Corporation for National and Community Service. The student programs that helped to achieve the award are of the Volunteer Clearing House, Institute for Ethical and Civic Engagement, Engineers Without Boarders and Puksta Scholars Program. For more information visit the Corporation for National and Community Service website.

2008 Diversity Service Recognition Award winners
Recipients of the 2008 Diversity Service Recognition Awards were honored at a luncheon Feb. 19 during the 13th Annual Campus Diversity Summit. The awards, sponsored by the Chancellor's Advisory Committee on Minority Affairs (CACMA), are given to campus units to recognize their continuing efforts to create a diverse and supportive learning, working and living environment, and their commitment to promoting an understanding of multicultural issues. This year's winners are Professor Jill Tompkins, American Indian Law Clinic; the Office of Discrimination and Harassment; the UMC Connection EDGE Team (Encouraging Diversity Growth for Equity); International Student and Scholar Services (Office of International Education); and Ron Stump, vice chancellor for Student Affairs.

2008 Chancellor's Committee on Women awards
Recipients of the 2008 Chancellor's Committee on Women (CCW) awards were honored at a luncheon Feb. 19 during the annual Campus Diversity Summit. The awards recognize individuals and units, faculty, students and staff who have worked to improve the campus climate for women through their support, opportunities and mentoring, and by actively addressing issues that affect women on campus. This year's winners are Laura Border, director of the Graduate Teacher Program; Candice Bowen, recently appointed executive director of Human Resources; Patricia Rankin, professor of physics and principal investigator of the LEAP program; and Elease Robbins, associate vice chancellor for Student Affairs and Dean of Students.

Distinguished Research Lectureship
Fred Anderson, professor of history, delivered a speech titled "War and Peace in American History" Feb. 20 as part of the 100th annual Distinguished Research Lectureship. The Lectureship is the highest honor given to a faculty member by the Graduate School. Anderson was chosen based on his exceptional work emphasizing the colonial period, the American Revolution and early United States.

2008 Eaton Faculty Award winners
In mid-February the Center for Humanities and the Arts (CHA) announced the winners of the second annual Eaton Faculty Awards for distinguished research and creative achievement. The $1,500 funding for each award is provided by an endowment from Leslie and Woody Eaton, longtime supporters of the humanities and arts at CU-Boulder. The winners are Sigman Byrd, Program in Writing and Rhetoric; Jay Ellis, Program in Writing and Rhetoric; Elissa Guralnick, College of Music; William Gustafson, College of Music; and Eckart Schütrumpf, Department of Classics.

Institute Spotlight: INSTAAR

IT sets sights on future campus technology use

CU researcher assists in library fire recovery effort

Faculty Focus

From the Chancellor

Moving forward with Flagship 2030

News Center
Mesa State College And CU-Boulder Announce Mechanical Engineering Partnership

Scientists Using Laser Light To Detect Potential Diseases Via Breath, Says Study

Current And Future Effects Of Colorado's Energy Boom Topic Of Feb. 28 CU-Boulder Event

Podcast: CU Professor Gives Insight To Challenges In Pakistan

More News>>

Featured Newsletter

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map