University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, May 22, 2007 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


CU-Boulder Alumni Association presents annual awards
The CU-Boulder Alumni Association honored 12 outstanding members of the campus community at the 77th Annual Alumni Awards Ceremony on May 9. Four alumni received the George Norlin Award: Peter Henning Jr., Walter Koelbel Sr., Leonard LaPointe, and Alan Stern. Three CU-Boulder faculty and staff members received the Robert Stearns Award: Daniel Baker, Polly McLean, and Uriel Nauenberg. The Alumni Recognition Award was presented to Jeannie Thompson and Rolan Zick. The 2006 Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award went to James Tighe. Alumnus Scott Wood won the Leanne Skupa-Lee Award. John Jacus received the Board of Directors Award. The ceremony also commemorated the 125th anniversary of the Alumni Association. For more information on the awards and recipients, visit the Alumni Awards website.

Teacher Recognition awardees announced
Students again voted for faculty they believe are among the best and most inspiring teachers at CU-Boulder in the annual Teacher Recognition Awards program sponsored by the Herd, the student arm of the CU-Boulder Alumni Association and the largest student alumni group in the country. This year's winners are Ray MacFee, business; Sally Elliot, art and art history; Janet DeGrazia, chemical and biological engineering; and Brett King, psychology.

Two staff members receive CU GOLD awards
CU GOLD, a student-directed leadership program, held their third annual Leadership Recognition Reception Wednesday, May 2 in the UMC. Mark Schwartz, sexual harassment training and education coordinator in the Office of Judicial Affairs, received Supportive Staff Member of the Year in honor of his efforts to help make the success of student groups possible. Gail Siegel, director of the Office of Community Relations, received the first Dennis Small Cultural Center Ripple Award award in honor of her continued dedication and contribution to the DSCC mission.

CU track and field excels at Big 12 Outdoor Championships
The University of Colorado track and field teams, led by head coach Mark Wetmore, brought home several honors from the 2007 Big 12 Outdoor Track & Field Championships held May 11-13. The Buffs had four individuals earn titles, two men and two women. Hannah Warfield-Ruffatto won the javelin by four inches with a throw of 161-01 and Brent Vaughn broke tape in the 5k for his third straight outdoor title (14:21.46). Jenny Barringer and Billy Nelson each won the 3,000-meter steeplechase. Barringer finished in 10:19.34 and Nelson in 8:47.89. Not to be outdone, Zach Hazen recorded a school record in the hammer throw (210-11). The men placed fourth and the women were 10th. For more information, please read the release.

Staff Council 2007 Years of Service Awards
Last week Boulder Campus Staff Council and Vice Chancellor for Administration Paul Tabolt recognized the following individuals for their commitment and service to the University of Colorado at Boulder at a reception in their honor:

35 Years of Service

  • William Callahan
  • Margaret Isenhart
  • Jim Sherman
  • Merelene Stanley

30 Years of Service

  • Ellen Cook
  • Alex Craig
  • Nancy Guild
  • Lou McClelland
  • Anne McWilliams
  • Burt Rashbaum
  • Ricky Richards
  • John Stovall

25 Years of Service

  • Guillermina Alamos-Rodriguez
  • Salvador Amaro
  • David Anderson
  • Hilda Brehm
  • Elaine Butler
  • Marc Callier
  • Cindy Dipersio
  • Darrell Droddy
  • Melanie Evans
  • Anthony Garduno
  • Christopher Goodwin
  • Karen Hogan
  • Brian Holter
  • Chari Ihle
  • Debbie Jordan
  • Cathy Kerry
  • Lisa Kienle
  • Jani Little
  • Cruz Martinez
  • Melanie Massengale
  • Helene McHendry
  • Michael Nelson
  • Kevin Orin
  • Christopher Pacheco
  • Dennis Richards
  • Jonathan Roberts
  • Larry Schwarz
  • Albertano Sosa-Corral
  • Pamela Stanfield
  • Dee Thoren

20 Years of Service

  • Abbas Assadi
  • Julie Ballinger
  • Jonathan Bennett
  • David Bodnar
  • Paul Boni
  • Ruth Bracey
  • Roberta Brown-Jones
  • Karen Campbell
  • Valerie Embry
  • Eric Erdos
  • Burton Fox
  • Manuel Garcia
  • Ava Goodheart
  • Leanne Hamlin
  • Beun Homchanh
  • Patti Hughes
  • Steven Jordan
  • Alphonse Keasley
  • Patty Kramer
  • John Krueger
  • Eve Leedy
  • Margaret Lepper
  • Cayetano Lerma
  • Sandy Lovato
  • Mary Lowe
  • Esam Loza
  • Marina Maestas
  • David Marler
  • Heliodoro Martinez
  • Rodolfo Martinez-Landin
  • Kathy McCullar
  • Kathryn Moller
  • Lisa Moller
  • Alan Nelson
  • Richard Nishikawa
  • Beverly Olivas
  • Jean Onaga
  • Anita Ortman
  • Vasant Patel
  • Carlos Perea
  • Gerald Roehrs
  • Kampah Saengaree
  • Ken Schuetz
  • Carolyn Schwab
  • Souriya Senphannarat
  • Sheila Smith
  • Garnett Tatum
  • John Templeton
  • Kathleen Vito
  • Dorothy Watson
  • Charles Wilcox
  • William Williams

On the Shakespeare Festival's 50th anniversary, it's better than ever

Childcare Task Force submits recommendations

Growing UROP seeks wider faculty, student participation

People Behind the Scenes

From the Chancellor

A Reflection on the Virginia Tech tragedy

News Center
CU-Boulder To Partner With Cornell, Cal Tech On $100 Million Telescope In Chilean Desert

CU-Boulder Center To Participate In $2 Million Grant To Engage Minority Students In Computing

CU-Boulder Study Tracks CO2 Pulses Released Into Atmosphere At End Of Last Ice Age

More News>>

Your Turn

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map