University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, April 10, 2007 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Eaton Faculty Award winners announced
The Center for Humanities and the Arts (CHA) is pleased to announce the first winners of the annual Eaton Faculty Awards for distinguished research and creative achievement:

  • Ernesto Acevedo-Muñoz, film studies program, for his book, "Buñuel and Mexico, the Crisis of National Cinema" (University of California Press, 2003)
  • David Boonin, department of philosophy, for his book, "A Defense of Abortion" (Cambridge University Press, 2002)
  • Elizabeth Farr, College of Music, for her harpsichord recording, "Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre: Suites Nos. 1-6" (Naxos, 2005)
  • Jane Garrity, department of English, for her book, "Step-Daughters of England, British women modernists and the national imaginary" (Manchester University Press, 2003)
  • Donna Goldstein, department of anthropology, for her book, "Laughter Out of Place: Race, Class, Violence, and Sexuality in a Rio Shantytown" (University of California Press, 2003)

Funding for the $1,500 awards is provided by an endowment from Leslie and Woody Eaton, long-time supporters of the humanities and arts at CU-Boulder. For more information, please visit the CHA website.

CU Parents Association announces Marinus Smith award winners
Twenty three faculty and staff members received 2007 Marinus G. Smith Recognition Awards from the CU Parents Association, presented during a ceremony on March 3 by Provost Phil DiStefano. The award recognizes faculty, instructors and staff who have made a significant impact on the lives of one or more undergraduates.

  • Lawrence Kaptein, associate professor, College of Music
  • Claire Figel, staff member, Baker Environmental RAP
  • Petger Schaberg, instructor/lecturer, Program for Writing and Rhetoric
  • Ravinder Singh, associate professor, biology
  • Matthew Roeder, assistant professor, College of Music
  • Jerry Aronson, senior instructor, film studies
  • Kim Kelley, staff member, College of Architecture and Planning
  • Mike Bohn, director, intercollegiate athletics
  • Kevin MacLennan, director, Office of Admissions 
  • Ken Kucera, staff member, Housing
  • Adrianne Fillerup, teaching assistant, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Raymond MacFee, senior instructor, Leeds School of Business
  • Ken Bonatti, professional academic advisor, Academic Advising Center
  • Dave Biagioni, teaching assistant, applied mathematics
  • Michael Dubson, senior instructor, physics
  • Nicholas Flores, associate professor and chair, economics
  • Kenneth Wright, assistant professor, integrative physiology
  • Michael Delgado, assistant professor, army ROTC
  • Chris Ingraham, teaching assistant, English
  • Karen Ramirez, instructor, Sewall RAP
  • Dave Martinez, staff member, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Jonathan Peeters, instructor, philosophy
  • Daniel Jones, senior instructor, Kittredge RAP

The award is named for Marinus G. Smith, a Colorado pioneer who made significant financial and land donations to the university.  

Institute for Ethical and Civic Engagement awards funding for course development
The Institute for Ethical and Civic Engagement (IECE) recently awarded funding for the development of five additional courses that integrate civic and/or ethical engagement in the curriculum. This work is part of IECE’s goal to make civic and ethical engagement a core part of the university’s mission and education. Recipients include:

  • Donna Sockell and Francy Milner, Leeds School of Business
  • Leonard Baca, School of Education and Colene Robinson, School of Law
  • Debra Flanders Cushing and Willem van Vliet, College of Architecture and Planning
  • Amy Schmitz, School of Law
  • Kenneth Howe, School of Education

IECE has now provided $113,700 for the development of 21 courses and projects during the past two years. For more information, contact Peter Simons.

Wolf Law Building keen on being green
The U.S. Green Building Council recently awarded the Wolf Law Building a gold rating, one of the nation's highest for green building design. The structure earned the rating under the Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design program (LEED). To achieve a gold rating, a building must meet high standards, including sustainable site development; water-saving features; high levels of energy efficiency; use of green construction materials; extensive recycling of construction waste; and high indoor environmental quality. The law building features high-efficiency lighting, CO2 monitoring, low-flow water fixtures, waterless urinals, a high-efficiency cooling system and central steam heat. During construction, 91 percent of the materials from demolition and construction were recycled. The school is also powered by 100 percent renewable energy through wind energy credits. The Wolf Law Building is the eighth building in Colorado to achieve the elite LEED Gold certification and the second building on the CU-Boulder campus. In 2006 the ATLAS building earned the campus's first gold rating and the UMC received a silver certificate.

Residential Academic Program Spotlight - SHIP

Jewish Studies certificate program seeks director

Inside CU spring 2007 survey report

Science on a Sphere unveiled at Fiske Planetarium

"Passages" tributes now being accepted

News Center
CU-Boulder Professor Margaret Tolbert Awarded 2007 CU-Boulder Hazel Barnes Prize

Seven CU-Boulder Programs Ranked In Top 25 In Latest U.S. News Graduate School Rankings

CU-Boulder Grad Student Played Pivotal Role In Breaking Walter Reed Story

More News>>

Your Turn

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map