Research & Innovation Office Directory

  • General Inquiries:

  • rio@colorado.edu
    303-492-7401
    View RIO Organizational Chart

  •  

  • Mailing Address:

  • Research & Innovation Office
    University of Colorado Boulder
    Regent Administrative Center, Rm. 330
    99 UCB
    Boulder, CO 80309-0020

  • Street Address:

  • University of Colorado Boulder
    Regent Administrative Center
    2055 Regent Drive, Rm. 330
    Boulder, CO 80309-0020

Staff

Ann Bennan

Ann Bennan

Professional Assistant to Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Integrity & Compliance
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Controlled Substances • Responsible Conduct of Research
ann.bennan@colorado.edu     303-492-2471
Abby Benson

Abby Benson

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation
Office of Industry Collaboration • AeroSpace Ventures
Sarabeth Berk

Sarabeth Berk

Assistant Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
sarabeth.berk@colorado.edu     (970) 379 2667
Victor Bright

Victor Bright

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation • Federal Labs Relations and Internal Competitions
Research & Innovation Office Administration • Funding & Awards
victor.bright@colorado.edu     303-735-1734
Diane Carillo

Diane Carillo

Proposal Writer
Funding & Awards
Emily CoBabe-Ammann

Emily CoBabe-Ammann

Director, Strategic Projects
Grand Challenge • Research & Innovation Office Administration
emily.cobabeammann@colorado.edu     303-735-7935
Leah Colvin

Leah Colvin

Director
Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
leah.colvin@colorado.edu     303-492-9137
Julien Denaes

Julien Denaes

Global Entrepreneur in Residence
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
George Deriso

George Deriso

Managing Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
george.deriso@colorado.edu     (303) 492-6596
Karen Driver photo

Karen Driver

IRB Administrative Program Specialist
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Human Research & IRB
karen.driver@colorado.edu     303-735-3700
Claire Dunne

Claire Dunne

IRB Director
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Human Research & IRB
claire.dunne@colorado.edu     303-735-5014
Terri Fiez photo

Terri Fiez

Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation
Research & Innovation Office Administration
terri.fiez@colorado.edu     303-492-4499
Kelly Fleming

Kelly Fleming

IT Business Analyst; IRB eRA Manager
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Human Research & IRB
kelly.fleming@colorado.edu     303-735-8057
Colisse Franklin

Colisse Franklin

Senior Executive Aide to the Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation
Research & Innovation Office Administration
Fax: 303-492-5777
colisse.franklin@colorado.edu     303-735-7536
Douglas Cameron

Douglas Cameron Grafel

IRB Panel 1 Review Coordinator
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Human Research & IRB
douglas.grafel@colorado.edu     303-492-1940
Melanie Green

Melanie Green

Executive Assistant, Office of Conflict of Interest and Commitment
Conflicts of Interest & Commitment
greenmll@colorado.edu     303-492-4729
Erika Herreria

Erika Herreria

Budget and Financial Manager
Research & Innovation Office Administration
erika.herreria@colorado.edu     303-735-3125
Althea Lantron

Althea Lantron

Interim IACUC Director
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • IACUC
Althea.Lantron@Colorado.edu     303-492-4787
Ali Le Beau

Ali Le Beau

Program Manager
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
alivia.lebeau@colorado.edu     303-735-5542
Allison Miller

Allison Miller

Marketing & Communications Specialist
Research & Innovation Office Administration
allison.miller-2@colorado.edu     (303) 492-8418
Katherine Mills

Katherine Mills

Export Controls Analyst
Export Controls
katherine.e.mills@colorado.edu     303-492-2427
Linda Morris

Linda Morris

Research Regulatory Advisor • Export Compliance Administrator
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Export Controls
linda.morris@colorado.edu     303-492-2889
Pond scene

Bebhinn Nagle

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Office (IACUC) Coordinator
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • IACUC
Bebhinn.Nagle@Colorado.edu     303-492-8187
Bruno Peroni

Bruno Peroni

Global Entrepreneur in Residence
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Julie Poppen

Julie Poppen

Interim Director of Media Relations & News Services • University Media Relations Contact, Animal Care Program
Office of Animal Resources
Julie.Poppen@colorado.edu     303-492-4007
Bryn Rees

Brynmor Rees

Director of Technology Transfer (CU Boulder and UCCS)
Technology Transfer Office
brynmor.rees@colorado.edu     303-735-4474
Ryan Reeves

Ryan Reeves

Research Services Professional, Operations
Research & Innovation Office Administration • Funding & Awards
ryan_reeves@colorado.edu     303-492-2436
Karen Regan

Karen Regan

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation
Research & Innovation Office Administration • Funding & Awards • Conflicts of Interest & Commitment
karen.regan@colorado.edu     303-492-4310
Betsy Remnant

Betsy Remnant

Professional Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation and Associate Vice Chancellors for Research & Innovation
Research & Innovation Office Administration
betsy.remnant@colorado.edu     303-735-7505
Jon Reuter

Jon Reuter

Institutional Veterinarian • Director of Animal Resources
IACUC • Office of Animal Resources
Jon.Reuter@Colorado.EDU     303-492-3411
Joe Rosse

Joseph G. Rosse

Associate Vice Chancellor of Research Integrity & Compliance
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • IACUC • Controlled Substances • Export Controls • Human Research & IRB • Responsible Conduct of Research
joseph.rosse@colorado.edu     303-735-5809
Pam Rosse

Pamela Ann Rosse

Compliance Director
Conflicts of Interest & Commitment
pamela.rosse@colorado.edu     303-492-3024
Kirsten Rowell headshot

Kirsten Rowell

Research Leadership Program Director
Research & Innovation Office Administration
Ruth Seaholm

Ruth Seaholm

Research Faculty HR Liaison
HR Processes
Ruth.Seaholm@Colorado.edu     303-735-7930
Nigel Sharp

Nigel Sharp

Global Entrepreneur in Residence
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Pam Tazik

Pam Tazik

Deputy Director
Office of Contracts & Grants
pam.tazik@colorado.edu     303-735-7212
Alan Townsend head shot

Alan Townsend

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Research & Innovation Office Administration
Denitta Ward

Denitta Ward

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation • Director, Office of Contracts & Grants
Office of Contracts & Grants
denitta.ward@colorado.edu     303-735-6624
Phil Weiser head shot photo

Philip J. Weiser

Faculty Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative
Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Misty White

Misty White

IRB Panel Review Coordinator
Office of Research Integrity (Compliance) • Human Research & IRB
Misty.White@Colorado.edu     303-735-6652
Chris Yankee

Chris Yankee

Director, Research Communications
Research & Innovation Office Administration
chris.yankee@colorado.edu     303-735-9092

RIO Units

OAR

Office of Animal Resources

The Office of Animal Resources (OAR) is a service center responsible for providing high-quality animal care, veterinary care, and support for the research and teaching missions of CU Boulder.
Funding & Awards

Funding & Awards

CU Boulder expands research capacity by encouraging cross-campus and interdisciplinary collaborations, facilitating competition for large, collaborative grants, and providing support in proposal development, writing and budgeting.
Grand Challenge

Grand Challenge

"Our Space. Our Future." fuses CU Boulder's unique strengths in earth, space and social sciences with new technologies and partners to address the pace and pattern of changes for our environment, our resources and our planet.
Conflicts of Interest and Commitment

Conflicts of Interest and Commitment

CU Boulder's Conflicts of Interest and Commitment (COIC) department helps protect employees, students, departments, and the University as a whole from adverse outcomes resulting from potential conflicts of interest related to scholarship and research.
Office of Contracts & Grants

Office of Contracts & Grants

The Office of Contracts & Grants (OCG) works in partnership with CU Boulder's faculty and staff to prepare and submit proposals, including budgets, for external research funding. Material Transfer Agreements (MTAs) and Confidentiality Agreements (CDAs) are also managed by OCG.
Export Controls

Export Controls

Working with foreign national collaborators, institutions, or students may fall under the purview of various federal export control laws. In general, these regulations involve military technology, “dual-use” technologies, as well as nearly any kind of financial transactions with certain embargoed countries or individuals.
Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative

Innovation & Entrepreneurship

This campus-wide Innovation & Entrepreneurship (I&E) initiative leverages extensive curricular and experiential learning, one of the world's most vibrant and collaborative startup ecosystems, and an intentional culture of innovation to foster an environment for high-impact entrepreneurship.
OIC

Office of Industry Collaboration

The Office of Industry Collaboration (OIC) was formed in July 2013 to enhance the connection between CU Boulder and local, state, national, and international industry and business partners. The office is intended to be the identifiable entry point into CU Boulder for potential partners.
Human Research & IRB

Human Research & IRB

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is responsible for the review of all human subject research when conducted by the university's faculty, staff, students, or other affiliates and agents. The IRB’s mission is to protect the rights and welfare of subjects involved in human research at CU Boulder.
Technology Transfer Office

Technology Transfer Office

With expertise in patents, copyrights and licensing, CU Boulder's Technology Transfer Office (TTO) helps translate discovery into impact. TTO offers transparent, flexible intellectual property management services and connects researchers with a variety of commercialization programs in the university and community.
OPA

Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

The mission of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (OPA) is to enhance and support postdoctoral training and career development, help build a sense of community among postdocs, and serve as a resource to campus and affiliated National Labs.
RCR

Responsible Conduct of Research

CU Boulder is committed to the core principle of performing original research and providing scientific training using the highest standards and best practices of ethics and the Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR)—the practice of scientific investigation with integrity”, as defined by the National Institutes of Health.
ORI

Office of Research Integrity (Compliance)

The Office of Research Integrity (ORI) is committed to upholding CU Boulder’s scientific and ethical integrity as well as academic excellence in all research activities with which our students, faculty and staff are associated.
IACUC

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

The primary function of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) is to ensure that all state and federal regulations regarding the humane care and use of animals in research and teaching are strictly followed at the University of Colorado Boulder.
AeroSpace Ventures

AeroSpace Ventures

The CU Boulder AeroSpace Ventures (ASV) initiative creates a collaborative environment in which CU Boulder's aerospace engineering and earth and space science faculty, students, and industrial researchers work together to solve complex problems that lead to new discoveries and innovations.