You are here


Matt Keller receives Fuller & Scott Early Career Award

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Matt Keller who received The 2012 Behavior Genetics Association's Fuller and Scott Early Career Award. This prestigious award recognizes outstanding scientific accomplishments by a member who is early in their career. Matt earned this award based on his groundbreaking evolutionary and statistical genetic studies of behavior and psychiatric disorders.

Matt Keller, Sarah Medland, and Laramie Duncan win Fulker Award

At this year's meeting of the Behavior Genetics Association, the Fulker Award for best paper published in the journal Behavior Genetics during 2010 was presented to IBG Faculty Fellow, Matt Keller (Assistant Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience), Sarah Medland of the Queensland Institute for Medical Research, and Laramie Duncan, a graduate student in clinical psychology and the IBG graduate program. Their paper, "Are extended twin family designs worth the trouble? A comparison of the bias, precision, and accuracy of parameters estimated in four twin family models" provided a rigorous guide to these issues in the classical twin design and three extended twin family designs used in human behavior genetics.

Congratulations to Matt, Sarah, and Laramie for this outstanding contribution to behavior genetics research.

Melissa Munn-Chernoff named co-recipient of the 2011 Dozier Award

Congratulations to Melissa Munn-Chernoff and her mentor, Mike Stallings, on Melissa's being named co-recipient of the 2011 Dozier Award for the most outstanding graduate student in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience.

Melissa successfully defended her thesis on `Genetic and Environmental Risk Factors for Disordered Eating and Co-Occurring Traits' last week, and will take up a postdoctoral fellowship at Washington University, St. Louis, in the Dept. of Psychiatry.

2010 Denham Harman Research Award to Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson has won the American Aging Association's 2010 Denham Harman Research Award for lifetime achievement in research. Established in 1978 this award was named in honor of Dr. Denham Harman, a co-founder of the American Aging Association and honors a person who has made significant contributions to biomedical aging research. This recognizes Tom and his research group's outstanding contributions to the scientific understanding of aging.

2010 Faculty Research Award to John Hewitt

Tom Johnson

John Hewitt received this year's faculty research award from Department of Psychology and Neuroscience at the department's commencement ceremony on May 6th, 2010.

Dozier Award for Best Graduate Student

Jay Schulz-Heik is the recipient of the Dozier Award for the best graduate student in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience. Jay is supervised by Soo Rhee in the clinical and behavior genetics programs and is currently an intern at the Palo Alto VA Medical Center.

2010 Faculty Assembly Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work to Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson has received the Spring 2010 Boulder Faculty Assembly Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

This award is presented for work of high quality that does not receive recognition through the usual channels. For instance, nominations for interdisciplinary research, work accomplished with undergraduate students, or an integrated long-term achievement are particularly invited.

Tom Johnson elected as fellow of the AAAS

Tom Johnson has been elected as a fellow of the American Society for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of his distinguished contributions in developing the Caenorhabditis elegans model for understanding the genetics of longevity and identifying genes associated with increased longevity and stress resistance.

Other current IBG Faculty Fellows who have previously been elected as fellows of the AAAS are John DeFries and Bruce Pennington.'

2009 Boulder Faculty Assembly Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work.

Al Collins

Al Collins, has been selected to receive the 2009 Boulder Faculty Assembly Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work.

2009 Schober Award to Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson

Tom Johnson, Faculty Fellow of the Institute for Behavioral Genetics and Professor of Integrative Physiology, CU Boulder, has been selected as the 2009 winner of the Schober Award for research on aging awarded by the Martin-Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg, Germany. Prof. Johnson will give the keynote address at their September 2009 meeting on biomarkers of aging.

2008 Dobzhansky Award to John Hewitt


Prof. John Hewitt, IBG's Director, received the Dobzhansky Award for outstanding lifetime research accomplishment in the field of behavioral genetics. The award was conferred at the Annual Meeting of the Behavior Genetics Association in Louisville, Kentucky, June, 2008.

2008 James Shields Award to Greg Carey


Prof. Greg Carey, an IBG Faculty Fellow, received the James Shields Award for outstanding contributions to twin research. This award is conferred by the Behavior Genetics Association and the International Society for Twin Studies in honor of James Shields, a pioneering researcher in human behavior genetics. The award recognizes both methodological and substantive contributions to the study of twins and is the premier scientific award for twin research.

NRSA pre-doctoral fellowship to Jen Wilking

Jen Wilking, a graduate student in Jerry Stitzel's lab, has been awarded a NRSA pre-doctoral fellowship from the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Research Grant Awards to Mike Stallings and Matt McQueen


Mike Stallings and Matt McQueen have been awarded research grants from the CU-Boulder Vice Chancellor for Research's Innovative Seed Grant Program. This competitive program was instituted "to involve new initiatives and take investigators in creative, and sometimes high-risk/reward directions; and, have tangible payoffs in terms of future funding, scholarly or artistic impact, and development of new collaborations."

Provost Faculty Achievement Award to Soo Rhee

Soo Rhee

Dr. Soo Rhee has been selected to receive one of the new Provost Faculty Achievement Awards.

APA Early Career Research Award to Erik Willcutt

Eric Wilcutt

Dr. Erik Willcutt recently received the APA's Division 53 (Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology) Early Career Research Award.