People

Jackson Crawford

Jackson Crawford

Instructor
Nordic Program
Old Norse language. Norse sagas and mythology. Historical linguistics. History of the Scandinavian languages. Scandinavian dialectology.
jackson.crawford@colorado.edu     (303) 492-4775
Patrick Greaney

Patrick Greaney

Professor
German Program
19th & 20th C. German and French literature. History and theory of the avant-garde. Critical theory. Modern and contemporary art.
patrick.greaney@colorado.edu     (303) 492-7460
Vicki Grove

Vicki Grove

Senior Instructor
Russian Program
Vampiric tendencies of the Russian "superfluous man."
vicki.grove@colorado.edu     (303) 492-8226
Saskia Hintz

Saskia Hintz

Senior Instructor
German Program
Second language acquisition. Literature, art, and creative writing in the language classroom. Contemporary Germany.
saskia.hintz@colorado.edu     (303) 735-2581
Arne Hoecker

Arne Höcker

Assistant Professor • Associate Chair of Graduate Studies
German Program
German Literature and Culture from the 18th century to the present; literary theory; history and theory of scientific cultures.
arne.hoecker@colorado.edu     (303) 492-2605
Berit Jany

Berit Jany

Instructor
German Program
SLA, Interculturality, Technology and Teaching, German-Americana, Anabaptism and Pietism.
berit.jany@colorado.edu     (303) 492-6356
Elena Kostoglodova

Elena Kostoglodova

Senior Instructor
Russian Program
Experimental classrooms. Contemporary Russian issues.
elena.kostoglodova@colorado.edu     (303) 492-2601
Mark Leiderman

Mark Leiderman (Lipovetsky)

Professor • Department Chair
Russian Program
20th and 21st-centuries Russian literature. Soviet and post-Soviet culture. Postmodernism.
mark.leiderman@colorado.edu     (303) 492-7957
Tatiana Mikhailova

Tatiana Mikhailova

Senior Instructor
Russian Program
Women's studies. Gender images in recent Russian culture. Cultural and gender paradoxes that occur in Russian media.
tatiana.mikhailova@colorado.edu     (303) 492-4775
Helmut Muller-Sievers

Helmut Muller-Sievers

Professor • Director, Center for the Humanities and the Arts
German Program
Literature, science, philosophy, and the history of philosophy and interpretation.
helmut.muller-sievers@colorado.edu     (303) 492-1423
Mathias Nordvig

Mathias Nordvig

Visiting Assistant Professor
Nordic Program
Pre-Christian Nordic mythologies, Scandinavian folklore, Nordic memory studies, myth and disaster studies, North Atlantic and Greenlandic literature, reception history of the Viking Age, Neo-paganism
mathias.nordvig@colorado.edu     (303) 735-0245
Laura Osterman

Laura Olson Osterman

Associate Professor • Russian Faculty Advisor • Graduate Associate Chair
Russian Program
Folk and popular culture. Gender studies.
lolson@colorado.edu     (303) 492-7729
Jillian Porter

Jillian Porter

Assistant Professor
Russian Program
Jillian Porter holds an M.A. and a Ph.D. in Slavic Languages and Literatures from the University of California, Berkeley, and a B.A. in Liberal Arts from Sarah Lawrence College. Her research explores intersections between Russian economic history and cultural production from the late 18 th century to the present. Her first book, Economies of Feeling: Russian Literature under Nicholas I , is due for release by Northwestern University Press in...
(303) 492-7457
Tom Roberts

Tom Roberts

Visiting Assistant Professor
Russian Program
19th century Russian literature, Russian Orthodox art and theology, film studies.
thomas.roberts@colorado.edu     (303) 735-2449
Artemi Romanov

Artemi Romanov

Professor
Russian Program
History of American-Russian relations; history of sport and the cold war; interpersonal and intergenerational communication; lexicology, sociolinguistics and second language acquisition.
artemi.romanov@colorado.edu     (303) 492-8827
Ann Schmiesing

Ann Schmiesing

Professor • Interim Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Affairs
German Program
18th and 19th-century German and Norwegian literature and culture. Fairy tales and folklore. Lessing and the Enlightenment. Disability studies.
ann.schmiesing@colorado.edu     (303) 735-5747
Sasha Senderovich

Sasha Senderovich

Assistant Professor
Russian Program
Russian-Jewish literature and culture; Soviet and post-Soviet literature, culture, and cinema.
sasha.senderovich@colorado.edu     (303) 492-7457
Davide Stimilli

Davide Stimilli

Associate Professor
German Program
Literary criticism and theory, intellectual history, art theory, film studies, Kafka, Warburg.
davide.stimilli@colorado.edu     (303) 492-6239
Lauren Stone

Lauren Stone

Assistant Professor
German Program
Literature and culture from the late 18th to the early 20th centuries and their points of intersection with the German philosophical tradition since Kant.
lauren.stone@colorado.edu     (303) 492-0699
Beverly Weber

Beverly Weber

Associate Professor • Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies • Associate Faculty of Gender and Women's Studies • Regular Faculty of Jewish Studies • Affiliate Faculty of Ethnic Studies and Film Studies
German Program
Cultural studies; Comparative Literature; Race, gender, and migration; precarity and intimacy; post 1945 literature and film; Islam in Europe; feminisms.
beverly.weber@colorado.edu     (303) 492-2604