You are here

Be competitive.

Be dynamic.

Be collaborative.

May 2015

Be competitive.


U.S. News and World Report released their 2016 Best Grad Schools list last month, and we are happy to report that our college was very well represented.

The College of Engineering and Applied Science was ranked No. 34, above Colorado School of Mines and Colorado State University. Among departments and programs, aerospace engineering broke into the top 10, while several others earned spots in the national rankings:

  • Aerospace engineering (10)
  • Chemical engineering (16)
  • Environmental engineering (18)
  • Civil engineering (21)
  • Mechanical engineering (35)
  • Electrical engineering (37)
  • Computer engineering (38)
  • Computer science (40)

For a look at University of Colorado system-wide rankings, please visit www.colorado.edu/news/releases/2015/03/10/cu-boulder-graduate-programs-rate-highly


Be dynamic.


In the upcoming academic year, the college will begin offering a new minor in biomedical engineering. This six-course, 18 credit hour program can be added to any engineering major. Topics covered within the minor include biotechnology, biomaterials, drug delivery, medical imaging, therapeutic and diagnostic use of bioelectric phenomena, design and manufacture of biomedical devices, bioinformatics, and biocomputational techniques.

Select admitted students have already been invited to participate in the minor, and current students may begin applying in October of their sophomore year. The biomedical minor joins other college minors including energy engineering, computer science and electrical, computer and energy engineering. 

Be collaborative.


Catalyze CU-Boulder, in cooperation with the College of Engineering and Applied Science and the Leeds School of Business, sponsored the first University Accelerator Conference on March 5-6 in the Idea Forge. Catalyze U convened representatives of university accelerators from across the country, including MIT, the University of Washington, the University of Georgia, Florida State University and about a dozen others.  
The event kicked off with a dialogue with Brad Feld, co-founder of TechStars and the Foundry Group, who has been very active in Boulder’s start-up community. The second day featured a number of panels for university representatives, students and the Boulder start-up community.  
“It was great to see so many universities who have identified business accelerators as a top priority,” said Doug Smith, CEAS assistant dean for programs and engagement. “There was a lot of interest among participants in keeping in touch and making this an annual event.”


Mark Borden of mechanical engineering received a grant from the National Science Foundation for his project proposal, entitled "Synthetic Alveoli for Enhanced Oxygen Delivery.”

Chris Bowman of chemical and biological engineering received a patent for a new photopolymerizable resin system for dental restorative materials such as fillings, crowns and dental implants.

Nikolaus Correll and Andy McEvoy of computer science had a paper published in the journal Science on “Materials that couple sensing, actuation, computation, and communication.”

Moncef Krarti of civil, environmental and architectural engineering has been named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Abbie Liel of civil, environmental and architectural engineering was named to the Engineering News Record Mountain States edition “Top 20 Under 40.” She has also received the 2014 Shah Family Innovation Prize.

Robert McLeod of electrical, computer and energy engineering has been awarded a patent for a technique to create lenses with customized optical and/or mechanical properties.

Shelly Miller of mechanical engineering and her collaborators were awarded a research grant for their research project titled “Climate Change Mitigation in Low-Income Communities in Colorado: Home Weatherization Impacts on Respiratory Health and Indoor Air Quality during Wildfires.”

Roseanna Neupauer of civil, environmental and architectural engineering was selected to join the President’s Teaching Scholar Program.

Tad Pfeffer of civil, environmental and architectural engineering was selected for a Jefferson Science Fellowship at the U.S. Department of State for the upcoming academic year.

Zhiyong Jason Ren of civil, environmental and architectural engineering was named 2015 New Inventor of the Year by the University of Colorado Technology Transfer Office.

Jack Zable of mechanical engineering received the Erskine fellowship given by the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand.


Alice Bradley, aerospace engineering doctoral candidate, has been selected as the first recipient of the Strauch Family Graduate Fellowship.

Xiaokun Gu, mechanical engineering doctoral candidate, received the 2015 Teets Family Endowed Fellowship. The fellowship is awarded to a student whose research focuses on microsystems and nanosystems. 

Tommy Hoffmann, junior computer science major, and his team Overly Kinetic recently received the “Ones to Watch” award at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Games Awards in London.

Ryan McGranghan, aerospace engineering graduate student, will be giving a TEDxCU talk on space weather on April 11. Learn more at www.ted.com/tedx/events/15244.

Melissa McnallyMelissa McNally, engineering plus major, has been selected as the 2015 Student Employee of the Year. Student Employment invited supervisors to nominate student employees who have demonstrated exemplary work within their departments. This year, 27 students were nominated. Employees are evaluated based on the following criteria: reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, community and campus service and uniqueness of contribution. For more information visit http://www.colorado.edu/studentemployment/2015-award-winner



Pamela Alvarez, Financial Professional, Chemical & Biological Engineering
Alisha Bennett, Director of Human Resources, Dean’s Office
Laura Baumgartner, Communications & Program Assistant, ITLL/General Engineering+
Sarah Buhr, Director of Corporate & Foundation Relations, Dean’s Office
Beth Curtis, Undergraduate Advisor, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
Jessica Drelles, Undergraduate Advisor, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
David Helmuth, Studio Operator, CAETE
George Karpoff, Administrative Assistant II, BOLD Center
Teagan Lochner, Alumni Relations & Events Coordinator, Dean’s Office
Vera Sebulsky, Graduate Program Advisor, Mechanical Engineering
Megan Smith, Marketing Manager, Engineering Management Program
Lauren Wheeler, Project & Financial Coordinator, Idea Forge
Katie Young, Human Resources & Graduate Assistant, ATLAS Institute

Important Announcements

CUEngineering:  A publication for alumni and friends. Read the 2016 edition of CUEngineering magazine here.

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks
College of Engineering & Applied Science
Contact Us