Sullivan-Carlson Innovation in Teaching Award

You are here

The Sullivan-Carlson Innovation in Teaching Award gives students the opportunity to nominate the instructor they feel has most demonstrated excellence through developing and maintaining curricula that improve the education of engineering students. The award was established in 1997 by engineering students in honor of Jackie Sullivan and Larry Carlson, co-directors of the Integrated Teaching & Learning Laboratory.


In the spirit of the ITLL, the student-sponsored Engineering Excellence Fund makes the $1,000 award annually to an instructor in the college who demonstrates initiative and innovation in developing and using hands-on curriculum. The award is presented each year at the Engineering Design Expo. (No award was presented in 2007 since the timing of the presentation was changed that year from fall to spring.)


Students may nominate a faculty member for the award by filling in the online nomination form.

Previous Recipients

2013 Leland Giovannelli Herbst Program of Humanities
2012 Daven Henze Mechanical Engineering
2011 Ryan Starkey Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2010 Derek Reamon Mechanical Engineering
2009 Roseanna Neupauer Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
2008 Daniel Connors Electrical and Computer Engineering
2006 Dirk Grunwald Computer Science
2005 Michael Eisenberg Computer Science
2004 Daria Kotys-Schwartz Mechanical Engineering
2003 Peter Mathys Electrical and Computer Engineering
2002 Clayton Lewis Computer Science
2001 Michael Brandemuehl Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
2000 Ken Gall Mechanical Engineering
1999 Janet deGrazia Chemical/Mechanical Engineering
1997 David Clough Chemical Engineering


Important Announcements

CUEngineering:  A publication for alumni and friends. Read the 2016 edition of CUEngineering magazine here.

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks
College of Engineering & Applied Science
Contact Us