Charles A. Hutchinson Memorial Teaching Award

You are here

The Charles A. Hutchinson Memorial Teaching Award recognizes faculty in the College of Engineering and Applied Science who have made outstanding contributions to teaching.  Instructional faculty as well as tenured/tenure-track faculty are eligible. The $1,500 award honors Charles A. Hutchinson, a distinguished professor of applied mathematics in the college from  1918 to 1966. He received the college's Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award posthumously in 1970 (see profile).

The factors that may be considered include, but are not limited to: record of course teaching; leadership in curriculum, laboratory, or course development at the department, college, or campus level; individual supervision of undergraduate or graduate students; leadership in professional activities about teaching and education; publications and presentations about teaching and education. The award is intended to recognize faculty who have shown a consistent dedication to teaching, education, and students.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nomination information is sent to each departmental office by the Dean's Office.

  2. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the Dean's Office by the first Friday in November each year.

  3. A committee of three, appointed by the Dean, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the Dean.

  4. The award will be given at the college faculty and staff reception in January.

Making a Nomination

Option 1: Submit a BFA Excellence in Teaching nomination or the nomination materials prepared previously for a similar recognition.  The previous nomination may be from the current or previous calendar year.  

Option 2: Verify that the nominee's most recent vita has been placed on the FRPA web site. Then, submit the following documents in Microsoft Word or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the contribution(s) to teaching which have been made by the nominee. These contributions can include, but are not limited to, such areas as course teaching, curriculum/lab/course development, student supervision, and teaching publications.
  • Supporting Letters — Provide not more than five brief supporting letters from students, former students, and colleagues.

Previous Recipients

2013 Mark Rentschler Mechanical Engineering
2012 Dragan Maksimovic Electrical, Computer & Energy Engineering
2011 David Klaus Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2010 Christine Hrenya Chemical & Biological Engineering
2009 Will Medlin Chemical & Biological Engineering
2008 Roseanna Neupauer Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2007 Daria Kotys-Schwartz Mechanical Engineering
2006 Michael Eisenberg Computer Science
2005 Derek Reamon Mechanical Engineering
2004 Janet deGrazia Chemical & Biological Engineering
2003 John Crimaldi Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2002 Kristi Anseth Chemical Engineering
2001 Lawrence Carlson Mechanical Engineering
2000 Robert H. Davis Chemical Engineering
1999 Harihar Rajaram Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1998 Michael Main Computer Science
1997 Delores M. Etter Electrical & Computer Engineering
1996 Brian M. Argrow Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1995 Michael R. Lightner Electrical & Computer Engineering
1994 Ron E. West Chemical Engineering
1993 John O. Dow Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1992 Steven C. Chapra Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1991 George W. Rosborough Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1990 John L. Falconer Chemical Engineering
1989 Klaus D. Timmerhaus Chemical Engineering
1988 David L. DiLaura Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1987 Marvin W. Luttges Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1986 Chuen-Yen Chow Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1985 David E. Clough Chemical Engineering
1984 Carl T.A. Johnk Electrical & Computer Engineering
1983 George J. Maler Electrical & Computer Engineering
1982 Leonard G. Tulin Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1981 William L. Wainwright Mechanical Engineering
1980 Nguyen X. Xinh Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1979 William B. Krantz Chemical Engineering
1978 Hon-Yim Ko Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1977 Platt Wicks Electrical & Computer Engineering
1976 Kurt H. Gerstle Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1975 Leo C. Novak Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering


Important Announcements

CUEngineering:  A publication for alumni and friends. Read the 2016 edition of CUEngineering magazine here.

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks
College of Engineering & Applied Science
Contact Us