College of Engineering Outstanding Staff Award

You are here

The Outstanding Staff Award was first awarded in 1990 and is designed to recognize a staff member in the College of Engineering and Applied Science who has made outstanding contributions to his or her work unit, which benefits the students, staff, and faculty of their unit and the college. The value of the awards is $1,500.

The contributions of the nominee should emphasize both the individual’s commitment to serving the students and employees of the college. The individual’s efforts toward this commitment can be expressed in many ways including, but not limited to, outstanding performance of his/her position’s duties, concern for students and willingness to help, creative uses of resources and time to produce desired results and/or programs, effective communication skills, and exceptional knowledge of college and university resources and programs.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nomination information is sent to each departmental office by the Dean’s Office.

  2. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the Dean’s Office by the first Friday in November.

  3. A committee of three, appointed by the dean, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the dean.

  4. The award will be presented at the college faculty and staff reception in January.

Making a Nomination

Option 1: Submit a Chancellor’s Staff Award nomination or the nomination materials previously prepared for a similar recognition. The previous nomination may be from the current or previous calendar year. 

Option 2: Submit the following documents in Microsoft Word or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the way(s) in which the individual has made contributions including the individuals/groups/organizations that have benefited from the contributions.
  • Supporting Letters — Not more than five brief supporting letters from students, former students, staff, and faculty should be included.

Previous Recipients

2013 Claire Yang Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2012 Tim May Integrated Teaching & Learning Program
2011 Deborah Mellblom Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2010 Jana Murphy Dean's Office
2009 Dragan Mejic Chemical & Biological Engineering
2008 Bernadette Garcia Colorado Space Grant Consortium
2007 Pam Wheeler    Electrical & Computer Engineering
2006 Matthew Rhode    Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2005 Christina Vallejos    Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2004 Patti Gassaway       Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2003 Billy Woods       Electrical & Computer Engineering
2002  Patricia Roll       Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2001 Cyndi Alvarado       Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2000 Rebecca Phillips       Chemical Engineering
1999 Pamela Lingenfelter       Chemical Engineering
1998 Marcia Elwood       Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1997 MaeJean Ruehlman       Electrical & Computer Engineering
1996 Sandy Spahn       Chemical Engineering
1995 Virginia Milano       Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1994 Ellen Romig       Chemical Engineering
1993 Norman Taylor       Chemical Engineering
1992 Karl Rupp       Mechanical Engineering
1991  Meta Coleman       Dean's Office
1990 Margaret Ryan       Dean's Office


Important Announcements

CUEngineering:  A publication for alumni and friends. Read the 2016 edition of CUEngineering magazine here.

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks
College of Engineering & Applied Science
Contact Us