College of Engineering Faculty Research Award

You are here


This award is designed to recognize achievements by a faculty member of the College of Engineering and Applied Science who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge through research activities.  Research faculty as well as tenured/tenure-track faculty are eligible. The $1,500 award was established in 1978.

The contributions of the nominee should emphasize both the specific and long-time research activities of the individual.  The accomplishments should indicate how the individual has advanced the field of knowledge and provided new and innovative insights into unsolved research problems.

The nomination should describe the value of the results achieved, the significance they hold for the field involved, and the peer recognition and awards the nominee has received as a result of his/her research activities.

Nomination Procedures

  1. Nomination information is sent to each departmental office by the Dean’s Office.

  2. Nominations and supporting documentation should be returned to the Dean’s Office by the first Friday in November.

  3. A committee of three faculty, appointed by the Dean, will review all nominations and recommend an award recipient to the Dean.

  4. Award will be presented at the college faculty and staff reception in January.

Making a Nomination

Option 1: Submit a BFA Excellence in Research nomination or the nomination materials prepared previously for a similar recognition. The previous nomination may be from the current or previous calendar year. 

Option 2: Verify that the nominee's most recent vita has been placed on the FRPA web site. Then, submit the following documents in Microsoft Word or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format:

  • Nomination Letter — Describe the way in which the individual has advanced the field of knowledge and provided new and innovative insights into unsolved research problems over the long term.  Detail the paper recognition, the awards and recognition, and the subsequent achievements of graduate students involved.
  • Supporting Letters — Not more than five brief supporting letters from colleagues, students, and former students should be included.

Previous Recipients

2014 Diane McKnight Civil, Environmental & Architectual Engineering
2013 Balaji Rajagopalan Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2012 Karl Linden Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
2011 Dan Scheeres Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2010 Martin Dunn Mechanical Engineering
2009 Dan Schwartz Chemical & Biological Engineering
2008 Doug Gin Chemical & Biological Engineering
2007 Zoya Popovic Electrical & Computer Engineering
2006 Steven George Chemical & Biological Engineering
2005 Alan Weimer Chemical & Biological Engineering
2004 Kristi Anseth Chemical & Biological Engineering
2003 Christopher Bowman Chemical Engineering
2002 Andrzej Ehrenfeucht Computer Science
2001 William Emery Aerospace Engineering Sciences
2000 Ted Randolph Chemical Engineering
1999 Dan M. Frangopol Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1998 Louis L. Scharf Electrical & Computer Engineering
1997 Jacques I. Pankove Electrical & Computer Engineering
1996 Charbel H. Farhat Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1995 Richard D. Noble Chemical Engineering
1994 George H. Born Aerospace Engineering Sciences
1993 Robert H. Davis Chemical Engineering
1992 Stein Sture Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1991 John L. Falconer Chemical Engineering
1990 Jan F. Kreider Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1989 Gary D. Hachtel Electrical & Computer Engineering
1988 William B. Krantz Chemical Engineering
1987 David C. Chang Electrical & Computer Engineering
1986 W. Fred Ramirez Chemical Engineering
1985 Kurt H. Gerstle Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1984 Subhendu K. Datta Mechanical Engineering
1983 Robert L. Sani Chemical Engineering
1982 Robert L. Schiffman Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1981 Hon-Yim Ko Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
1980 David R. Kassoy Mechanical Engineering
1979 Seymour Geller Electrical & Computer Engineering
1978 Edward A. Erdelyi Electrical & Computer Engineering


Important Announcements

CUEngineering:  A publication for alumni and friends. Read the 2016 edition of CUEngineering magazine here.

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks
College of Engineering & Applied Science
Contact Us