University of Colorado at
 Boulder
 
CU: Home A to Z Map
Wild Buffalo  Engineering Center  Environmental Engineering
  About the Program  
  Program Description  
  News  
  Seminars  
  Curriculum  
  Courses  
  Advising  
  Information on  
  Faculty and Staff  
  Students  
  Alumni  
  Internships  
  Research Positions  
  Environmental Engineering Home


 


Faculty and Staff

EVEN Director: Prof. R. Scott Summers
Email: r.summers@colorado.edu
Phone: 303-492-6644
Office: Engineering Center ECES 108

Academic Advisor: Joanne Uleau
Email: Joanne.Uleau@colorado.edu
Phone: 303-735-0253
Office: Engineering Center ECES 111

Faculty

Angela Bielefeldt, former EVEN Director (2006-2010)
Associate Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: EVEN1000 Introduction to Environmental Engineering,
    CVEN 4434 Environmental Engineering Design, CVEN 4474 Hazardous Waste Management
Research: Biological Treatment of Hazardous Organic Compounds, Subsurface Bioremediation
Email: angela.bielefeldt@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 8433, office: ECES 128

Chris Corwin, Instructor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 3414 Fundamentals of Environmental Engineering, CVEN 3424 Water and Wastewater Treatment, CVEN 4434 Environmental Engineering Design, CVEN 4464 Environmental Engineering Processes
Email: christopher.corwin@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 7651; office: ECES 110

William Emery, Professor, Aerospace Engineering Science
Research: Satellite Remote Sensing of Oceans, Vegetation and Atmosphere
Email: william.emery@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 8591, office: ECNT 220

Michael Hannigan, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Teaching: MCEN Spc Tpcs: Sustainable Energy; Air Pollution Control, Fluid Mechanics, Experimental Dsn and Data Analysis; EVEN 4830 Spc Tpcs: Environmental Toxicology
Research: Characterization and abatment of air pollution, impact of air quality on health, energy links to air quality
Email: michael.hannigan@colorado.edu, phone: 303 735 5045, office: ECES 116

Daven Henze, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Teaching: MCEN 3030 Computational Methods
Research: aerosols and air quality; climatology and atmospheric chemistry; remote sensing
Email: daven.henze@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 8716; office: ECES 114

Mark Hernandez, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 3414 Fundamentals of Environmental Engineering, CVEN 4484 Intro to Environmental Microbiology
Research: Biological Waste Treatment Processes, Subsurface Bioremediation, Microbiology of Aerosols
Email: mark.hernandez@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 5991, office: ECES 118

Jean Hertzberg, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Teaching: MCEN 3012 Thermodynamics, MCEN 4030 Computational Methods
Research: Combustion Fluid Mechanics, Hazardous Waste Destruction
Email: jean.hertzberg@colororado.edu, phone: 303 492 5092; office: ECME 220

Kristine Larson, Professor, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Teaching: ASEN 2001 Statics, Structures, and Materials, ASEN 4090 GPS Applications
Research: Applications of GPS, Including: Navigation, Earthquakes, Volcanoes, Soil Moisture, and Vegetation Sensing
Email: Kristine.Larson@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 6583; office: ECAE 177

Karl Linden, Professor; Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 5834 Special Topics: UV treatment; CVEN 3414 Fundamentals of Environmental Engineering
Research: Water Treatment, Wastewater Treatment, Disinfection, Bioremediation
Email: karl.linden@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 4798, office: ECES 132

Diane McKnight, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 3434 Applied Ecology
Research: Aquatic Ecology, Aquatic Chemistry
Email: diane.mcknight@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 4687, office: ECES 124 (part-time)

Jana Milford, Professor, Mechanical Engineering; EVEN Director
Teaching: MCEN 4131 Air Pollution Control
Research: Air Quality Modeling, Atmospheric Chemistry
Email: jana.milford@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 5542, office: ECME 214

Shelly Miller, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Teaching: MCEN 4131 Air Pollution Control, MCEN 4141 Indoor Air Pollution
Research: Indoor Air Quality, Bioaerosols
Email: shelly.miller@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 0587; office: ECES 112

Lupita Montoya, Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 4834/5834 Fundamentals of Air Quality Science and Engineering
Research: Health effects of aerosols, indoor air quality and exposure, sustainability
Email: lupita.montoya@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 7137; office: ECES 134

Roseanna Neupauer, Associate Professor; Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: Fluid Mechanics, Hydraulics, Groundwater;
2010 winner of the Peebles Innovation in Teaching Award from the CU College of Engineering
Research: groundwater flow and transport modeling, porous media, contaminant source characterization
Email: Roseanna.Neupauer@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492-6274, office: ECOT 513

John Pellegrino, Research Professor; Mechanical Engineering
Teaching: Fluid Mechanics, Membranes, Energy, Separations
Research: Water, Energy, Membranes
Email: john.pellegrino@colorado.edu, phone: 303 735-2631, office: ECST 205

Hari Rajaram, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 4353 Groundwater Engineering
Research: Groundwater and Contaminant Hydrology, Stochastic Modeling of Transport Processes
Email: hari@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 6604, office: ECOT 514

Fernando Rosario-Ortiz, Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 4424 Environmental Organic Chemistry
Research: Wastewater reuse, Advanced oxidation processes for water treatment, Natural organic matter
Email: Fernando.Rosario@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 7607, office: ECES 130

Joseph Ryan, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering; former EVEN director (2001-2006)
Teaching: EVEN 1000 Intro. Environ. Eng., CVEN 3454 Water Chemistry, CVEN 4424 Environmental Organic Chemistry
Research: Contaminant Fate and Transport in Natural Waters, Surface and Colloid Chemistry
2010 Awarded the College of Engineering Outstanding FAculty Advisor Award
Email: joseph.ryan@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 0772, office: ECES 120

JoAnn Silverstein, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Research: Biological Treatment of Contaminants in Water and Wastes, Water Recycling
Email: joann.silverstein@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 7211, office: ECOT 515

Scott Summers, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Teaching: CVEN 3424 Water and Wastewater Treatment
Research: Drinking Water Quality and Treatment, Disinfection By-Products, Natural Organic Matter
Spring 2010 awarded the outstanding teaching award by Civil Engineering students
Email: r.summers@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 6644, office: ECES 108

Wendy Young, Ph.D., Instructor and Co-Department Manager; Chemical and Biological Engineering
Teaching:CHEN 1000 Creative Technology, CHEN 4090 Undergraduate Seminar
Email: wendy.young@colorado.edu, phone: 303 492 8721, office: ECCH 113