Faculty in the School of Education receive continuous recognition and innumerable awards for outstanding contributions to their fields. The following lists just some of the honors more recently bestowed as well as long-term appointments of distinction. For more information on faculty members’ awards and honors, see their Faculty Profiles

Campus-Wide Recognition

University Distinguished Professors

Chancellor's Committee on Women: CU Women that Matter Award

CU-LEAD Faculty Appreciation Award 

Distinguished Research Lecture

Joanne Arnold Courage and Commitment Award

Marinus Smith Award

Outstanding Faculty Graduate Advisor

Provost’s Award for Faculty Achievement

Robert L. Stearns Award, University of Colorado Boulder Alumni Association

The Best Should Teach Gold Award 

University of Colorado System, President's Diversity Award

University of Colorado System, President's Teaching Scholars

Regional, National, or International Recognition

Fellows of the National Academy of Education (NAE)

Fellows of the American Educational Research Association (AERA)

Presidential Appointment, National Board of Educational Sciences, U.S. Dept of Education

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

AERA Division D

National Council of Teachers of English

National Council on Measurement in Education

  • Annual Award for Contributions to Theory and Practice: Derek Briggs, 2012

National Science Foundation