University of Colorado at Boulder Chancellor's Committee on Women
University of Colorado CU Home Search A to Z Index Map University of Colorado at Boulder
CCW logo

  Untitled Document


Melinda Piket-May - Faculty, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Melinda Piket-May (S'89, M'92, SM'99 of IEEE) received her BSEE from the University of Illinois - Champaign in 1988 and her MSEE and PhD in Electrical Engineering from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, in 1990 and 1993. She joined the ECE Department at the University of Colorado - Boulder in 1993 as an Associate Professor. In 2000 she became an Associate Professor with tenure. She served as 2001/2002 Interim Associate Vice-Chancellor of Research for the University of Colorado Boulder campus. Melinda has served on the Administrative Committee of IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (APS) and IEEE Education Society and was an associate editor of IEEE APS. She is also a member of ASEE Education and Research Methods society. She is an elected member of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI) division B and D, she has also served as secretary of URSI commission D and as a member of the US National Administrative Council of URSI. Piket-May has a research program in computational electromagnetics.  Her work experience includes work with at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Fermi National Accelerator Lab, Naval Research Lab, Intel, Tektronix, Cisco, Kyocera, Ball Aerospace, NIST and Cray Research. Piket-May is also very active in engineering education. Her focus is on moving towards an interactive environment where the student is in charge of the learning.

She received an URSI Young Scientist Award and was named a Frontier's in Education (FIE) Sloan New Faculty Fellow. Piket-May was awarded an NSF CAREER award for her research and teaching activities. She was awarded the College of Engineering Peebles Award for teaching. She was selected as a Pew Fellow as a part of the Carnegie Foundation Academy for Teaching and Learning (CASTLE). She was selected as an Emerging Leaders Program (ELP) Fellow at the University of Colorado at Boulder. She was selected as a University of Colorado Leadership Education for Advancement and Promotion (LEAP) fellow as a part of the NSF CU Institutional Transformation Award.  She received the University of Colorado Elizabeth Gee Award for scholarly contributions, distinguished teaching and advancing women in the academic community. She is a member of the Boulder Chancellors Committee on Women and the Faculty Council Committee on Women and the Boulder Faculty Assembly (BFA) Executive Committee, budget and planning committee, chairs the BFA Administrative Appraisal committee and is a BFA representative to the Physical Accessibility Committee (PAC). She was general co-chair of the FIE conference in 2003 and served as the IEEE Education Society program chair for FIE 2006. She serves on the National Academy of Science's Committee on Radio Frequency 2006-2012. She has contributed to three book chapters and published a total of over 150 journal papers, conference papers and conference abstracts. She has secured over $1,000,000 in research funding for Technical Research and Educational Research Methods.

Her favorite class is first year engineering design GEEN1400. She loves advising students from any major.

She became involved in CCW because there are so many issues on campus that need a woman's voice and as a collective we have a strong voice. She serves as the faculty tri-chair for the 2010-2011 term.

Her favorite books this month are "Driven: How Human Nature Shapes Our Choices" by Lawrence and Nohria and "Things That Make Us Smart" by Norman.

Hometown: New Lenox, IL

Schools: University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign and Northwestern in Evanston IL.

Study Abroad: University of Lancaster, Lancaster, England.

Co-op experience: Fermi National Accelerator LAb and Cray Research.