University of Colorado at Boulder Chancellor's Committee on Women
University of Colorado CU Home Search A to Z Index Map University of Colorado at Boulder
CCW logo

  Chancellor's Committee on Women | University of Colorado at Boulder



Chancellor’s Committee on Women Annual Awards

Know someone at CU who is an advocate for other women? Know a department that continually works to improve the climate for women at CU? Nominations of students, faculty, staff, departments, or units are currently being accepted for the annual Chancellor’s Committee on Women (CCW) awards. 

Please e-mail nominations to
Nominator s should submit a letter of the nominee’s accomplishments explaining why the person or unit should be recognized (include specific examples). Nominations that include 2 or 3 additional letters of support are likely to show breadth and depth of activities.  Include the name and position of the person, or the name and mission of the unit.  The committee will consider self-nominations as well.

Contact:  Jan Owens, 2-4078 or

Criteria for Award:

  • Recognizing and working with the issues faced by women who may be marginalized or underrepresented on the basis of race, class, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, religion, or gender
  • Providing women with promotion and training opportunities for leadership roles
  • Participating in or supporting women’s participation in the Chancellor’s Committee on Women (CCW) and other committees and groups working on women’s issues
  • Creating mentoring opportunities for women
  • Aggressively recruiting and promoting women administrators
  • Ensuring salary equity
  • Supporting a work-life balance—flexibility on family issues
  • Promoting safe and accepting spaces on campus including classrooms, residence halls, departments
  • Creating and implementing staff incentives that reward community and university service
  • Actively promoting the voices of women on campus
  • Using information gathered on exit interviews to improve university climate
  • Addressing issues raised in the CCW report
  • Actively participating in or supporting student organizations relevant to promoting and advocating women’s issues

Past Award Recipients

Betsy Weatherhead
Jan Owens

Karen Jonscher
Hannah Wilks

Gender Violence Preventions Advisory Committee
Mary Friedrich

Cindy Donahue
Margaret Eisenhart

CU Women's Resource Center
Beth Osnes

Laura Border
Candice Bowen
Patricia Pankin
Elease Robbins

Janet Garcia
Polly McLean
Dr. JoAnn Silverstein
Sylvia Gardner

The Women in Engineering Program
Paul Tabolt
Zan Johns
Caroline Himes