Program Summary

The Department of Computer Science offers three graduate degrees: 

  • Master of Science (MS)
  1. MS in Computer Science
  2. MS in Computer Science with Data Science & Engineering Sub-Plan
  • Master of Engineering (ME)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). 

Detailed information can be found on the individual degree pages in the Current Students section of the website, but for a quick overview, please review the below material.


The Master of Science degree permits graduate students the flexibility in defining specialized interdisciplinary fields that meet their professional needs. There are two kinds of MS degrees offered. The first is a MS in Computer Science and the second one is MS in Computer Science with Data Science & Engineering sub-plan.


The Master of Engineering does not require a residency on campus and is intended to meet the needs of those practicing engineers who are working full time outside the university. It allows participants to pursue an integrated program of studies by specializing in one engineering discipline and selecting courses from other engineering fields and business subjects related to the individual student's professional work.


Studies leading to the doctor of philosophy degree must be chosen to contribute to special competence and a high order of scholarship in a broad field of knowledge. Although the field of study will normally be in the department of computer science, except for essential related subject matter, studies may include one or more closely related departments. What shall constitute an acceptable organized program of study and research is established in consultation with a major advisor and without regard to the organization of academic departments in the university.