Student Awards

The CS department maintains several Student Awards each year.  Below is a list of awards and the students who have earned them. 

Ralph J. Slutz Student Excellence Award

The Ralph J. Slutz Student Excellence Award in Computer Science was established in 2010 through a gift made by one of Dr. Slutz’ former students, Dr. Xiaodong Zhang (MS CompSci ’85, PhD ’89) to annually recognize students in Computer Science who have established a record of academic excellence and/or technical research and innovation. Dr. Zhang is currently the chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Ohio State University. In 2011, he was presented by Dean Rob Davis with the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award, which honors outstanding graduates and friends of the College of Engineering and Applied Science of CU Boulder.

Fall 2013

  • Aleksandar Chakarov (graduate student)
  • Robert Lindsey (graduate student)
  • Emily Bertelson (undergraduate student)
  • Sarah Feller (undergraduate student)
  • Paul Givens (undergraduate student)

Outstanding Research Award

This award is presented to PhD students each spring. The goal is to recognize current PhD students for their research accomplishments in the current calendar year.

Spring 2013

  • Yifei Jiang
  • Danish Khan
  • Daniel McDonald
  • Dola Saha

Spring 2012

  • Holger Dick
  • Yifei Jiang
  • Keith Maull
  • Caleb Phillips