CLASP IV - October 2-4, 2015

Plans are currently underway for the CLASP IV conference. Inquiries should be addressed to See our Call for Papers for more details

The CLASP Program at the University of Colorado is an interdisciplinary forum for scholars with interrelated research interests in the sociocultural and sociopolitical analysis of language. The CLASP Conference, organized at all levels by graduate students in the program, is a friendly conference designed for students and faculty to showcase new work. The conference brings in an array of national and international scholars from diverse countries and subdisciplines within sociocultural linguistics, such as sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, conversation analysis, critical discourse analysis, bilingualism, literacy studies, ethnography of speaking, and language policy.

Students and plenary speakers Drs. Norma Mendoza-Denton & Mary Bucholtz in between sessions at CLASP I.

The CLASP program has been honored to welcome as plenary speakers scholars from this diverse group of academic fields, including Dr. David Boromisza-Hayashi (Communication, University of Colorado), Dr. Mary Bucholtz (Linguistics, UC Santa Barbara), Dr. Andrew Cowell (Linguistics, University of Colorado), Dr. Robert Craig (Communication, University of Colorado), Dr. Cecilia Ford (English Language and Linguistics, University of Wisconsin-Madison), Dr. Barbara Fox (Linguistics, University of Colorado), Dr. Marjorie Goodwin (Anthropology, UC Los Angeles), Dr. Kira Hall (Linguistics and Anthropology, University of Colorado), Dr. Makoto Hayashi (East Asian Languages and Cultures, University of Illinois), Dr. Christine Mallinson (Language, Literacy, and Culture, University of Maryland), Dr. Norma Mendoza-Denton (Anthropology, University of Arizona), and Dr. Crispin Thurlow (Communication, University of Washington).

CLASP I plenary speaker Dr. Crispin Thurlow.

The CLASP conference is made possible through generous donations and support from our sponsors. These sponsors include the Department of Anthropology; the Department of Communication; the Department of Linguistics; the School of Education; the Program in Women and Gender Studies; the Center to Advance Research and Teaching in the Social Sciences; the BUENO Center for Multicultural Education; the Council for Research and Creative Work; the Arts and Sciences Student Government; the United Government of Graduate Students; and the Student Organizations Finance Office.