On This Page:
College Opportunity Fund (COF)
The College Opportunity Fund (COF), created by the Colorado Legislature, provides a stipend to eligible undergraduate students paying in-state tuition. The stipend pays a portion of total in-state tuition for eligible undergraduate students who attend a Colorado public institution or a participating private institution. Eligible undergraduate students must be admitted and enrolled at a participating institution to use the stipend for eligible undergraduate classes.
Students must apply for and authorize (two separate steps) the COF stipend in order to receive it. For instructions, see www.colorado.edu/registrar/students/cof. An account is created with 145 available undergraduate hours.
COF-eligible students who exceed 145 eligible COF hours toward their degree may apply for additional semesters of eligibility. See www.colorado.edu/registrar/students/cof/extensions.
Details of the COF program are determined by the Colorado Department of Higher Education (CDHE) and the College Assist Program. Updated details are available at cof.college-assist.org.
All new students (both in-state and out-of-state) must confirm their enrollment at the university by official notification and deposit of $200. The deposit is nontransferable and must be paid by all students, regardless of financial aid awards. Students who have paid the deposit and who decide not to attend CU-Boulder forfeit their deposit. Students who submit deposits after enrollment levels have been reached will not be accepted, and their deposits will be returned.
The confirmation deposit is not credited toward tuition and fees. It is refunded when a student graduates or officially withdraws from CU-Boulder within established dates and guidelines after paying any outstanding university obligations. Students should update their direct deposit bank account information before they graduate or withdraw to be sure they receive their refund.
Expenses for students attending the University of Colorado Boulder vary, depending on housing (on or off campus), program of study, state residency (tuition classification), personal needs and individual interests.
It is difficult, therefore, to provide exact statements of total expenses. The following estimated costs per academic year were calculated for the range of full-time undergraduate students living on the Boulder campus during the 2015-16 academic year.
Tuition and fees for 2016–17 were not set at the time of publication. Check the Bursar’s Office website for current tuition and fee rates: bursar.colorado.edu/tuition-fees/tuition-and-fees-rate-sheets.
Costs for 2015–16 Year at CU-Boulder
The figures below are estimates based on a single undergraduate student enrolled full time for an academic year of two semesters. The difference in range depends upon student's major.
In-State Expenses (Resident for tuition purposes)
Tuition and Fees: $11,273-$15,857
On-campus Room and Board (based on double occupancy): $13,194
Books and Supplies: $1,800
On-campus Estimated Total: $26,267–$30,851
Out-of-State Expenses (Nonresident for tuition purposes)
Tuition and Fees: $34,307–$37,313
On-campus Room and Board (based on double occupancy): $13,194
Books and Supplies: $1,800
On-campus Estimated Total: $49,301–$52,307
International Expenses (International nonresident for tuition purposes)
Tuition and Fees: $35,351–$38,897
On-campus Room and Board (based on double occupancy): $13,194
Health Insurance: $3,390
Books and Supplies: $1,800
On-campus Estimated Total: $54,025-$57,571
1. Residency classification is determined by Colorado state law. The resident tuition amount assumes eligibility for, and authorization for the use of, the College Opportunity Fund (COF) stipend, which was $75 per credit hour in 2015–16.
2. Special residential academic fees, program fees, course fees and transportation, medical and personal cost estimates are not included in the estimated total because costs can vary depending upon individual circumstances and spending habits.
Students planning to attend summer session should take into account estimated expenses indicated on the Summer Session website, available in early January.
In-state tuition is charged per credit hour. Out-of-state and international tuition is a flat rate, regardless of the number of credit hours.
In-state undergraduate students must apply for and authorize the College Opportunity Fund tuition stipend to help offset part of their tuition. See www.cu.edu/ums/cof/faq.html and cof.college-assist.org for additional information.
Out-of-state students are guaranteed the same tuition rate for four years. Students first registering summer 2015 through spring 2016 are guaranteed the same tuition rate through summer 2019. See www.colorado.edu/pba/budget/tuitionfees/guarantee.html for more information.
Zero or fractional credit is treated as one hour in assessing tuition and fees. Tuition for no-credit (NC) courses is the same as for courses taken for credit.
Students simultaneously enrolled in programs leading to two different degrees will be assessed tuition for the college or school with the higher tuition rate.
Housing Security Deposit
All students who live in the residence halls are required to pay a one-time security deposit of $300 (deposit is subject to change). This security deposit is held by Housing & Dining Services and is released to the tuition and fee account within 60 days after the expiration of the housing contract. Students who do not live in the residence hall for the entirety of the housing contract period or cancel their housing reservations forfeit the deposit.
The security deposit required for housing is in addition to the confirmation deposit required for admission to the university.
New Student Fee
The new student fee is a one-time nonrefundable fee assessed at the time of initial registration for students entering a degree program. Nondegree students who are admitted to degree status are charged the new student fee at the time they first register. It covers expenses for registration and degree services, New Student Welcome Programs, Buff OneCard, immunization management, Forever Buffs alumni membership and student support programs for international students. The fee varies depending upon degree and international status.
- Undergraduate students: $182
- Graduate students: $62
- International undergraduate students: $500
- International graduate students: $145
Program and Course Fees
Instructional fees are charged on an individual basis to help offset the higher costs of specialized supplies and equipment unique to these programs and courses. Program and course fees for 2015–16 ranged from $1–$375 per fee. Visit bursar.colorado.edu for a list of specific program and course fees. Lab courses not linked to a lecture course may also require payment of a course fee. In addition, certain colleges charge a fee for enrollment in that college, even if the student is not currently taking courses that apply to their major.
Late Registration Fees
Students in certain categories may be allowed to register late for a fall or spring semester if not registered in any classes as of the third Friday of the semester. Eligible students are assessed a $100 late registration fee, which should not be confused with charges assessed for late payments of the university bill.
Health Insurance Requirement
All students are required to have health insurance during their time at CU-Boulder. Students can elect coverage under their own insurance plan, through a family member or employer, or the university’s Student Gold Health Insurance Plan.
Automatic Enrollment in Student Gold Health Insurance
Students registered for six or more undergraduate credit hours or one or more graduate credit hours will be automatically enrolled in CU’s Student Gold Health Insurance Plan and charged the semester premium every fall unless the selection is changed by the semester deadline.
Exceptions to automatic enrollment: new summer students, non-degree seeking Continuing Education, ACCESS, Time Out Program, Study Abroad and evening MBA program.
Students can add the Campus Care supplement to their existing health insurance for basic coverage on campus or waive both university plans by providing proof of health insurance by the semester deadline.
For more information, visit www.colorado.edu/studentinsurance.
Note: Plans available through the health insurance marketplace meet CU’s health insurance requirement. Colorado students may sign up at Connect for Health Colorado (http://connectforhealthco.com). Nonresident students may sign up through their home state health exchange or through the national website at www.healthcare.gov.
2015–16 Mandatory Fees per Semester
Activity Fee (managed by CU Student Government)
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $48.01
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $297.75
More than one class (any amount of credit hours): $297.75
Graduate Students (Note 1)
Master's, beginning doctoral, doctoral thesis only, and law (status A, B, C, E): $297.75
Doctoral candidate (status D): $48.01
Arts and Cultural Enrichment Fee
All students: $10.00
Credit hours of 3 or fewer: $0.00
Credit hours of 4 or more: $28.50
Master's, beginning doctoral, and law (status A, B, C): $28.50
Doctoral candidate and doctoral thesis only (status D, E): $0
Capital Construction Fee
Credit hours of 6 or fewer: $85.00
Credit hours of 7 or more: $170.00
Career Services Fee
All students except law and doctoral candidates: $12.00
Credit hours of 6 or fewer: $33.62
Credit hours of 7 or more: $67.24
International Student Processing Fee (Immigration Compliance Fee)
International students only: $40
Mental Health Resource Fee
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $0.00
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $21.14
More than one class (any amount of credit hours): $21.14
Master's, beginning doctoral, doctoral thesis only, and law (status A, B, C, E): $21.14
Doctoral candidate (status D): $0
Doctoral candidate (status D) if enrolled in Student Gold Insurance or Wardenburg Campus Care: $21.14
Recreation Center Expansion Fee
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $85.28
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $106.62
More than one class (any amount of credit hours): $106.62
Doctoral candidate (status D): $0.00
Student Bus and Bike Programs Fee (Note 42)
All students: $85.00
Student Health Fee
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $0.00
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $84.14
More than one class (any amount of credit hours): $84.14
Master's, beginning doctoral, doctoral thesis only, and law (status A, B, C, E): $84.14
Doctoral candidate (status D): $0
Doctoral candidates (status D) if enrolled in Student Gold Insurance or Wardenburg Campus Care: $84.14
Student Information System Fee
All students: $7.00
1. Graduate status is determined by the Graduate School. Additional Graduate Student Fees: Law Students are assessed a Graduation Fee ($40). Law students except for professional masters (LLM) students are assessed a Law Student Services Fee ($150). All graduate students are charged the United Government of Graduate Students Graduate Fee of $5.50.
2. The student bus and bike program fee entitles students to unlimited free rides on local, regional and express bus routes.
For detailed student fee information, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Tuition and Fee Regulations
Drop/Add Tuition Adjustment
Adjustment of tuition and fees is made on drop/add changes as published at www.colorado.edu/registrar/calendars-schedules/academic-calendar.
Students are classified as residents or nonresidents for tuition purposes on the basis of answers provided on their application for admission and other relevant information. For more information, go to www.colorado.edu/registrar/state-tuition/criteria-establish-residency.
Students Registered on More than One Campus
Students registering for courses on more than one campus of the university during a single semester pay tuition and fees to each campus at the rate appropriate to the number of credits for which they are registered on that campus. Students may be eligible to use the concurrent registration option, in which case they pay the tuition rate of their home campus for the total hours enrolled at all campuses.
Nondegree students enrolled in undergraduate courses are assessed tuition at the undergraduate student rate. Nondegree students enrolled in graduate courses are assessed tuition at the graduate student rate. Nondegree students enrolled in both graduate and undergraduate courses are assessed tuition at the undergraduate student rate.
University Employees and Dependents
CU-Boulder offers a tuition benefit to eligible employees which may be transferred to their eligible dependents. The benefit allows eligible employees to receive a waiver for up to nine credit hours of tuition (on a space available basis) per year or allows their dependents to receive a discount of 10 percent off of the student share of tuition (tuition less the College Opportunity Fund stipend). Employees and their dependents are responsible for paying all other mandatory fees and other related educational costs. The faculty/staff benefit year runs fall term through summer term.
If an employee chooses to use the benefit for their dependent, the benefit is not based on space-available or full-time status. Dependents can register for courses during the regular enrollment period and can be enrolled full time or part time. The employee cannot use the nine credit hour tuition waiver during an academic year in which a dependent utilizes the 10 percent discount for one or more semesters.
Anyone using the benefit must be officially admitted as a degree-seeking or nondegree student to the Boulder Main Campus. The benefit does not apply to Continuing Education courses.
For more information about the tuition benefit, including eligibility, deadlines, the administrative policy, admissions information and taxable income visit the Employee Services website.
Specific information for Boulder Main Campus can be found through the Bursar's Office.
Concurrent Bachelor’s/Master’s Degree Programs
The Graduate School, in cooperation with the other colleges and schools, has instituted a concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degree option.
Students should talk with specific departments regarding programs offered and verification of the following statements:
- Students who complete the requirements for the concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degree receive both degrees simultaneously.
- Students admitted to concurrent programs may register for graduate courses before they receive a bachelor’s degree.
- Students admitted to bachelor’s/master’s programs will pay tuition according to their undergraduate/graduate status throughout the five to six years required to complete the concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degrees. Graduate students are assessed graduate tuition rates and if receiving financial aid are considered “independent” once reaching graduate status.
- Students admitted to concurrent degree programs are regarded as undergraduate students for the purposes of receiving financial aid until they are advanced to graduate status. Students pursuing a concurrent bachelor's/master's degree are automatically changed to graduate status after the completion of 130 credit hours (or 145 credit hours for a student in the College of Engineering and Applied Science). All credits earned at CU (including incomplete or in-progress grades), as well as transfer and AP credit are included in the total credit-hour limit for undergraduate status.
Approved Doctoral Candidates
A student who has passed the comprehensive exam and is admitted as an approved doctoral candidate is registered for five dissertation hours.
Students not making use of campus facilities may choose to register for three dissertation hours and will be considered part-time students.
Continuous registration for appropriate dissertation hours during fall and spring semesters is required until completion of the dissertation defense. During the semester of the dissertation defense, a student must be a full-time student, registered for five dissertation hours. A DMA student who has passed the comprehensive exam must maintain continuous registration by registering for DMA dissertation credits (courses 8200–8399) or TMUS 8029 through the semester in which the final dissertation exam or final exam is completed.
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Bills are available online before each semester begins, and after students have registered. For more information, visit bursar.colorado.edu or the Summer Session website at colorado.edu/summer/get-started/tuition-financial-aid/how-when-you-pay. Students access their student account on MyCUInfo.
Bills are online only. Any student who completes registration agrees to pay CU-Boulder according to the payment terms documented at bursar.colorado.edu under “Payments.” Once a month, CU-Boulder emails students and authorized payers reminding them to view their student account for recent activity and to pay any amount due by the due date. The student account is available online for students and authorized payers to view account activity and print a PDF bill. It includes all charges and credits for tuition, fees, housing, financial aid and payment received. No bills are mailed.
Payment methods include:
- Online payment from credit or debit card (nonrefundable 2.75 percent fee applies)
- Online from traditional checking or savings account
- Check (personal, certified, cashier’s, traveler’s, convenience checks or money orders). Include student’s identification number on the check.
- Wire transfer
- Flywire for international payments
Payment can be delivered via the Internet, wire, overnight express, standard U.S. Postal Service or dropped in one of two payment drop boxes located outside the north and south entrances of Regent Administrative Center. (See detailed information for all payment options at bursar.colorado.edu.)
Failure to receive the official email notification of the bill does not relieve any student of responsibility for payment by the published deadline. Adjustments made throughout the semester will appear immediately on the student account. Tuition and fee billing information is available at bursar.colorado.edu.
Students and family members who are authorized payers have the option to enroll in a payment plan. For more information, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Failure to Make Payment
Failure to make the required payment in accordance with the scheduled payment deadline will result in any or all of the following actions:
- Financial holds placed on the student account. Financial holds remain on student accounts until the balance is paid in full.
- Registration for future terms will not be allowed.
- No transcripts, diplomas or certification materials will be issued until the student’s account is paid in full.
- The student will be responsible for full tuition and fees, as well as a finance charge (1 percent monthly on the unpaid balance) and a late charge per semester according to the following schedule:
Balance Due and Late Charge:
$900.00 and over: $50
- All past due accounts are referred to the university’s Student Debt Management Department (SDM) for collection.
- Past due finance charges of one percent (1%) per month on the unpaid balance will be assessed. (The university will calculate the finance charge by applying the periodic rate of one percent (1%) per month [Annual Percentage Rate of 12%] to the unpaid balance amount less any payments or credits made.)
- Colorado law requires the university to place all delinquent accounts with a private collection agency. The SDM department places delinquent accounts after six months unless a university approved repayment agreement is signed and on file with SDM in the Bursar’s Office. (Establishing a repayment agreement does not result in release of financial holds.)
- The student account may be referred to an outside collection agency and the delinquency may be reported to national credit bureaus.
- Student accounts that are referred to an outside collection agency may incur collection agency costs, expenses and fees. Such collection costs, expenses and fees may include percentage-based fees charged to the university by the collection agency, including percentage-based fees of up to 30% of the debt collected. Any collection costs stated above are charged in addition to the principal, fees and interest due on the student’s account.
- The student may be responsible for reasonable attorneys’ fees and court costs associated with collecting or enforcing payment on the past due account as allowed under Colorado law.
- Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statues (CRS) § 23-5-115, in the event the student defaults on the amount owed to the university, the university may certify to the Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR) information required for the recovery of past due debt.
Returned Payment Policy
If your check or Internet payment is returned from your financial institution for any reason, regardless of the amount, it is considered nonpayment and nonpayment penalties will be applied. You are subject to a late payment charge, a one percent (1%) finance charge on the unpaid balance, and a financial hold will be placed on your student account preventing future registration. Accounts with repeated returned payment transactions will require payment with cash, certified (guaranteed) funds or money orders only. In addition to the amount due to the university, a $20 fee will be assessed for each payment returned. A $30 fee is assessed by NelNet Business Solutions for returned payment plan payments. If your student account remains unpaid and is referred to an outside collection agency, you may be responsible for collection agency costs, expenses and fees allowed under Colorado law and incurred by the university in such collection efforts. Collection costs, expenses and fees may include percentage-based fees charged to the university by the collection agency of up to 30% of the debt collected. Any collection costs stated above are charged in addition to the principal, fees and interest due on the student’s account. Inquiries concerning returned payments should be directed to Student Billing in the Bursar’s Office at 303-492-5381.
To dispute tuition and mandatory fee charges, you must make a formal appeal to the Tuition Dispute Committee by the end of the semester (last day of finals). Disputes will only be considered under extenuating circumstances, such as university error, recent medical condition, immediate family emergency, recent unanticipated financial problems and verified non-attendance. Official documentation must be provided to substantiate the circumstances. You may obtain a dispute form at bursar.colorado.edu/billing/tuition-dispute/ or by contacting the Bursar’s Office Student Billing Department, Regent Administrative Center, 43 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-0043, 303-492-5381 or firstname.lastname@example.org. If you disagree with the charges and fail to avail yourself of the dispute process by the end of the semester, you will have been deemed to have waived your right to dispute the charges. For additional information on the dispute process, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Withdrawal Policy Regarding Tuition and Fees
Students who pay the $200 confirmation deposit and register for classes for any given semester are obligated to pay full tuition and fees for that semester, unless they officially withdraw from the university by published deadlines.
Tuition and fee obligations for students withdrawing from fall or spring semesters:
Continuing students: Students who withdraw during the full-refund periods will have their confirmation deposit refunded unless there are any outstanding charges.
New and readmitted students: New, readmitted and transfer students are not eligible for a refund of the confirmation deposit.
Deadlines to withdraw with no financial penalty vary by semester but occur about ten days before the first day of instruction. Visit www.colorado.edu/registrar/withdrawing-university for the refund and assessment schedule.
If students withdraw after the deadline to withdraw without being assessed a financial penalty, but before 11:59 p.m. on the third Wednesday of instruction, they are assessed a $200 withdrawal processing fee. The confirmation deposit is automatically credited toward the withdrawal fee.
After the third Wednesday of instruction (the first drop deadline), there are three additional assessment periods.
- From the third Wednesday of instruction through the fifth Wednesday, students will be charged 40 percent of total tuition (not including the portion of tuition paid by College Opportunity Fund (COF) for in-state undergraduate students) and mandatory fees (CUSG student fees, athletic fee and capital construction fee).
- After the fifth Wednesday of instruction through the seventh Wednesday, students will be charged 60 percent of total tuition (not including the portion of tuition paid by COF for in-state undergraduate students) and mandatory fees (CUSG student fees, athletic fee and capital construction fee).
- After the seventh Wednesday of instruction, tuition will not be adjusted. In the case of extenuating circumstances (university error, recent medical condition, immediate family emergency, recent unanticipated financial problems or verification of non-attendance), students may dispute tuition and mandatory fee charges through the Bursar’s Office. COF hours are expended and not refunded for withdrawals after the published deadline.
To comply with federal financial aid regulations, financial aid recipients’ loan and scholarship awards may be adjusted.
Students should visit www.colorado.edu/registrar for any changes, as the Board of Regents reserves the right to revise this schedule at any time. Refer to the Summer Session website for information on the withdrawal policy and refund schedule for summer terms.
Students who do not pay the full amount due the university at the time of withdrawal must make arrangements for payment with the Student Debt Management department in the Bursar’s Office. All withdrawals are handled through the Office of the Registrar.
Individuals who have not been admitted to the university as degree-seeking or nondegree students, and who wish to attend regularly scheduled classes may do so by obtaining auditor's status. Auditors must receive permission and obtain a signature from course instructors during the first week of class to be formally added to the roster.
Audited courses will not appear on any transcript, formal or informal, as no credit is awarded. Registered auditors receive class instruction, D2L access and library privileges only. Being an auditor at the University of Colorado Boulder does not guarantee eligibility for regular degree or nondegree status.
Note: Admitted degree students, either enrolled or suspended, are not permitted to audit courses. If an admitted degree student is interested in participating in a class without receiving credit, the student must enroll in the course for no credit. Courses taken for no credit are assessed the same tuition rate as courses taken for credit.
Community members age 18-54 can register for the Community Auditors program through Continuing Education by completing the Community Auditor Registration Form available at ce.colorado.edu/resources/topics/enrollment-community-auditor. Contact email@example.com or call 303-492-5148 for more information.
Community auditors pay for three credit hours at the in-state undergraduate tuition rate in the College of Arts and Sciences. The cost is a flat rate and, with instructor permission, auditors may audit as many classes as desired. Non-refundable payment is due at the time of enrollment.
Senior Auditors Program
Individuals 55 years and older can register for the Senior Auditors Program through the CU-Boulder Alumni Association and qualify for reduced rates. Registration and eligibility information is available at www.cualum.org/services/senior-auditors. Contact the Alumni Association at 303-492-8484 for more information about this program.