On This Page:
College Opportunity Fund (COF)
In May 2004, an act of the Colorado State Legislature established a new way for the state of Colorado to provide state tax-dollar support for higher education at the undergraduate level. The state is no longer appropriating monies to institutions for undergraduate education but providing direct funding to undergraduate students through the College Opportunity Fund (COF).
To receive funds, in-state undergraduate students must request that the COF stipend be applied to their student account to avoid paying full tuition. Students complete the application and an account is created with 145 available undergraduate hours. COF funding for these hours can be used at any participating college in the state of Colorado.
Details of the COF program are determined by the Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) and the College Assist Program. Updated details are available at cof.college-assist.org. Students need to apply for and authorize (two separate steps) the COF stipend in order to receive it. For instructions, see "Apply for and Authorize COF" at www.colorado.edu/registrar.
All new students (both in-state and out-of-state) must confirm their enrollment at the university by official notification and deposit of $200. The deposit is nontransferable and must be paid by all students, regardless of financial aid awards. Students who have paid the deposit and who decide not to attend CU-Boulder forfeit their deposit. Students who submit deposits after enrollment levels have been reached will not be accepted, and their deposits will be returned.
The confirmation deposit is not credited toward tuition and fees. It is refunded when a student graduates or officially withdraws from CU-Boulder within established dates and guidelines after paying any outstanding university obligations. Students should update their direct deposit bank account information before they graduate or withdraw to be sure they receive their refund.
Expenses for students attending the University of Colorado Boulder vary, depending on housing (on or off campus), program of study, state residency (tuition classification), personal needs, and individual interests.
It is difficult, therefore, to provide exact statements of total expenses. The following estimated costs per academic year were calculated for the range of full-time undergraduate students living on the Boulder campus during the 2013–14 academic year.
Tuition and fees for 2014–15 were not set at the time of publication. Check the Bursar’s Office website for current tuition and fee rates: bursar.colorado.edu/tuition-fees/tuition-and-fees-rate-sheets.
Costs for 2013–14 Year at CU-Boulder
The figures below are estimates based on a single undergraduate student enrolled full time for an academic year of two semesters. The difference in range depends upon student's major.
Tuition and Fees: $10,498–$15,082
On-campus Room and Board (based on double occupancy): $12,258
Books and Supplies: $1,800
On-campus Estimated Total: $24,556–$29,140
Tuition and Fees: $32,266–$35,412
On-campus Room and Board (based on double occupancy): $12,258
Books and Supplies: $1,800
On-campus Estimated Total: $46,324–$49,470
1. Residency classification is determined by Colorado state law. The resident tuition amount assumes eligibility for, and authorization for the use of, the College Opportunity Fund (COF) stipend, which was $64 per credit hour in 2013–14.
2. Special residential academic fees, program fees, course fees, and transportation, medical, and personal cost estimates are not included in the estimated total because costs can vary depending upon individual circumstances and spending habits. They range from $1 to $375 per fee.
Students planning to attend summer session should take into account estimated expenses indicated in the Summer Session Catalog, available online and from the Office of the Registrar in mid-February.
In-state tuition is charged per credit hour. Out-of-state tuition is a flat rate, regardless of the number of credit hours.
In-state undergraduate students must apply and authorize for the College Opportunity Fund tuition voucher program to help offset part of their tuition. See www.cu.edu/ums/cof/faq.html and cof.college-assist.org for additional information.
Out-of-state students are guaranteed the same tuition rate for four years. Students first registering summer 2013 through spring 2014 are guaranteed the same tuition rate through summer 2017. See www.colorado.edu/pba/budget/tuitionfees/guarantee.html for more information.
Zero or fractional credit is treated as one hour in assessing tuition and fees. Tuition for no-credit (NC) courses is the same as for courses taken for credit.
Students simultaneously enrolled in programs leading to two different degrees will be assessed tuition for the college or school with the higher tuition rate.
Housing Security Deposit
All students who live in the residence halls are required to pay a one-time security deposit of $300 (deposit is subject to change). This security deposit is held by Housing & Dining Services and is released to the tuition and fee account within 60 days after the expiration of the housing contract. Students who do not live in the residence hall for the entirety of the housing contract period or cancel their housing reservations forfeit the deposit.
The security deposit required for housing is in addition to the confirmation deposit required for admission to the university.
New Student Fee
The new student fee is a one-time nonrefundable fee assessed at the time of initial registration for students entering a degree program. Nondegree students who are admitted to degree status are charged the new student fee at the time they first register. It covers expenses for registration and transcripts, undergraduate orientation, Buff OneCard, immunization management, Forever Buffs alumni membership, and orientation for international students. The fee varies depending upon degree and international status.
- Undergraduate students: $182
- Graduate students: $62
- International undergraduate students: $225
- International graduate students: $105
Program and Course Fees
Instructional fees are charged on an individual basis to help offset the higher costs of specialized supplies and equipment unique to these programs and courses. Program and course fees for 2013–14 ranged from $1–$375 per fee. Visit bursar.colorado.edu for a list of specific program and course fees. Lab courses not linked to a lecture course may also require payment of a course fee. In addition, certain colleges charge a fee for enrollment in that college, even if the student is not currently taking courses that apply to their major.
Late Registration Fees
Students in certain categories may be allowed to register late for a fall or spring semester if not registered in any classes as of the third Friday of the semester. Eligible students are assessed a $100 late registration fee, which should not be confused with charges assessed for late payments of the university bill.
Student Health Insurance Requirement and Plans
CU-Boulder has a policy requiring all CU students taking six or more credit hours (one for graduate students) to have health insurance coverage during their time at CU. To help students comply with this policy, all students are automatically enrolled in the university-sponsored Student Gold Health Insurance Plan every fall and charged the semester premium unless the plan is waived or the Wardenburg Campus Care supplemental plan is selected by the semester deadline.
To waive the Student Gold Plan or select the Campus Care Plan, students must be covered by a health insurance plan other than the university’s (i.e., through a parent, employer, or an individual insurance plan, etc.). The deadline to waive insurance is September 3, 2014, for fall 2014, and January 21, 2015, for spring 2015. Dates may be subject to change. The health plan selection made for the fall semester automatically extends through the spring/summer 2015 unless another plan is selected during the enrollment period.
Please note: Enrollment is not automatic for spouses/domestic partners and dependents; or for students in continuing education, study abroad programs including Semester at Sea, and the evening MBA program.
The university is not responsible for a student’s health care costs. If a student participates in one of the university health plans, Wardenburg Health Center will provide covered services as set forth in the plan selected.
For more information visit www.colorado.edu/studentinsurance.
Remember, the new Affordable Care Act is available for students without insurance. Colorado students may sign up at Connect for Health Colorado. Non-resident students may sign up through their home state health exchanges or through the national website at https://www.healthcare.gov.
2013–14 Mandatory Fees per Semester
Activity Fee (assessed by CU Student Government) (Note 1)
Undergraduate Students (Note 2)
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $52.83
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $292.79
More than one class (any amount of credit hours): $292.79
Graduate Students (Note 2)
Master's, beginning doctoral, doctoral thesis only, and law (status A, B, C, E): $292.79
Doctoral candidate (status D): $52.83
Arts and Cultural Enrichment Fee
All students: $10.00
Athletic Fee (Note 3)
Credit hours of 3 or fewer: $0.00
Credit hours of 4 or more: $28.50
Capital Construction Fee
Credit hours of 6 or fewer: $85.00
Credit hours of 7 or more: $170.00
Career Services Fee
All students except law and doctoral candidates: $9.00
Credit hours of 6 or fewer: $33.62
Credit hours of 7 or more: $67.24
International Student Processing Fee (CU SEVIS Compliance Fee)
International students only: $22
Rec Center Expansion Fee
One class of five or fewer hours: $85.18
More than one class with any amount of hours: $108.54
One class of more than five credits: $108.54
Student Bus and Bike Programs Fee (Note 4)
All students: $85.00
Student Health Fee
One class of 5 or fewer credit hours: $0.00
One class of more than 5 credit hours: $69.86
More than one class (any amount of credit hours: $69.86
Student Information System Fee
Mandatory for all students: $7.00
1. Undergraduate students: Payment of full Colorado Student Government student fees in the amount of $292.74 is mandatory for undergraduate students unless enrolled in only one class of five or fewer credit hours in which case base fees in the amount of $52.83 are charged.
2. Graduate status is determined by the Graduate School. Additional Graduate Student Fees: Law Students are assessed two additional fees: Graduation Fee ($40) and Law Student Services Fee ($150). The United Government of Graduate Students Graduate Fee is $4.50.
3. Not assessed to doctoral candidate or doctoral thesis.
4. The student bus and bike program fee entitles students to unlimited free rides on local, regional, and express bus routes.
For detailed student fee information, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Tuition and Fee Regulations
Drop/Add Tuition Adjustment
Adjustment of tuition and fees is made on drop/add changes as published at www.colorado.edu/registrar.
Students are classified as residents or nonresidents for tuition purposes on the basis of answers provided on their application for admission and other relevant information. For more information, go to the tuition classification link at registrar.colorado.edu/students/tuition_classification.html.
Students Registered on More than One Campus
Students registering for courses on more than one campus of the university during a single term pay tuition and fees to each campus at the rate appropriate to the number of credits for which they are registered on that campus. Students may be eligible to use the concurrent registration option, in which case they pay the tuition rate of their home campus rates for the total hours enrolled at all campuses.
Nondegree students enrolled in undergraduate courses are assessed tuition at the undergraduate student rate. Nondegree students enrolled in graduate courses are assessed tuition at the graduate student rate. Nondegree students enrolled in both graduate and undergraduate courses are assessed tuition at the undergraduate student rate.
Full-time permanent employees with an appointment of 50 percent or greater may enroll in up to 9 credit hours per year tuition-free, beginning with summer (certain mandatory fees still apply). Faculty and staff can share their hours with an eligible dependent. Enrollment is on a space available basis and must be done no sooner than the day classes begin for fall or spring and the first day of the course session for summer. Only main campus courses are eligible; Continuing Education courses do not qualify for this benefit. Dependents can only use the benefit for courses on the campus where the employee works. (Some restrictions apply.) Faculty, staff, and dependents must be admitted to CU as nondegree or degree-seeking students and meet all deadlines in order to receive the benefit. For details, visit Payroll and Benefits Services at www.cu.edu/employee-services/benefits/employee-tuition-benefit and the Bursar's Office at bursar.colorado.edu/resources+tuition-benefit.
Concurrent Bachelor’s/Master’s Degree Programs
The Graduate School, in cooperation with the other colleges and schools, has instituted a concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degree option.
Students should talk with specific departments regarding programs offered and verification of the following statements:
- Students who complete the requirements for the concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degree receive both degrees simultaneously.
- Students admitted to concurrent programs may register for graduate courses before they receive a bachelor’s degree.
- Students admitted to bachelor’s/master’s programs will pay tuition according to their graduate/undergraduate status throughout the five to six years required to complete the concurrent bachelor’s/master’s degrees. Graduate students are assessed graduate tuition rates and if receiving financial aid are considered “independent” once reaching graduate status.
- The minimum completion of 130 credit hours includes credits taken towards academic load from a student’s undergraduate work (which includes classes graded with an I or IP, as well as in-progress units) and transfer units (including AP credit). Students admitted to concurrent degree programs will be regarded as undergraduate students for the purposes of receiving financial aid throughout the five years of their program, unless they are advanced to graduate status. Students may advance to graduate status upon the recommendation of their department, only after the completion of all their undergraduate requirements. Students pursuing a concurrent bachelor's/master’s degree will be automatically changed to graduate status after the completion of 130 credit hours (or 145 credit hours for a student in the College of Engineering and Applied Science). The Title IV Higher Education regulations require that an institution determine when a student has progressed from undergraduate to graduate status.
Approved Doctoral Candidates
A student who has passed the comprehensive exam and is admitted as an approved doctoral candidate is registered for five dissertation hours. Students not making use of campus facilities may choose to register for three dissertation hours and will be considered part-time students. Continuous registration for appropriate dissertation hours during fall and spring semesters is required until completion of the dissertation defense. During the semester of the dissertation defense, a student must be a full-time student, registered for five dissertation hours. A DMA student who has passed the comprehensive exam must maintain continuous registration by registering for DMA dissertation credits (courses 8200–8399) or TMUS 8029 through the semester in which the final dissertation exam or final exam is completed.
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Bills are only online. Any student who completes registration agrees to pay CU-Boulder according to the payment terms documented at bursar.colorado.edu under "Payments." Once a month, CU-Boulder e-mails students and authorized payers reminding them to view their student account for recent activity and to pay any amount due by the due date. The student account is available online for students and authorized payers to view and print, and it includes all student transactions such as charges and credits for tuition, fees, housing, financial aid, and payment received. No bills are mailed.
Payment methods include:
- Online payment from credit or debit card (nonrefundable 2.75 percent fee applies)
- Online from traditional checking or savings account
- Check (personal, certified, cashier’s, traveler’s, convenience checks, or money orders). Include student’s identification number on the check.
- Wire transfer for international students via peerTransfer
Payment can be delivered via the Internet, wire, overnight express, standard U.S. Postal Service, or dropped in one of two payment drop boxes located outside the north and south entrances of Regent Administrative Center. (See detailed information for all payment options at bursar.colorado.edu.)
Failure to receive the official e-mail notification of the bill does not relieve any student of responsibility for payment by the published deadline. To avoid assessment of finance charges (1 percent per month on the unpaid balance), a late fee (up to $50 per semester), and possible loss of future semester classes, tuition and fees must be paid by the deadline published at bursar.colorado.edu. Adjustments made throughout the semester will appear immediately on the student account. Tuition and fee billing information is available at bursar.colorado.edu.
Students may select a two-payment plan online by the first tuition payment deadline each semester. For more information about the two-payment plan, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Failure to Make Payment
Failure to make the required payment by the stated deadline will result in any or all of the following actions:
- Registration for future terms will not be allowed. If the student is already registered for courses for a future term, those courses may be dropped.
- No transcripts, diplomas, or certification materials are issued for the student until the account is paid in full.
- The student will still be responsible for full tuition and fees, as well as a finance charge (1 percent per month on the unpaid balance) and a late charge per semester according to the following schedule:
Balance Due and Late Charge
$1.00–99.99: $ 5.00
$900.00 and over: $50.00
- All past due accounts are referred to the university’s Student Debt Management (SDM) department for collection after the end of the semester.
- Past due finance charges of 1 percent continue to accrue monthly as long as the debt is unpaid, and additional collection costs and reasonable attorneys' fees may be assessed.
- Colorado law requires the university to place all delinquent accounts with a third-party collection agency. If your account is referred to a collection agency, you may be responsible for collection costs and reasonable attorneys' fees, as allowed by the laws of the state of Colorado. The collection agency reports all past due accounts to national credit bureaus.
- The SDM department places delinquent accounts after one year, unless payments are being made or there exists a satisfactory repayment agreement with SDM in the Bursar's Office.
- Financial holds remain on your student account until the balance is paid in full. Establishing a repayment agreement does not result in removal of holds.
Returned Payment Policy
If your payment is returned from the bank for any reason—regardless of the amount—it is considered nonpayment, and nonpayment penalties will be assessed. You are subject to late fees and finance charges, and a financial hold will be placed on your account. You may also be dropped from your classes. Accounts with repeated returned payment transactions will require payment with cash, certified funds, or money orders only. A $20 returned payment charge is assessed in addition to the amount you owe the university. You may also be responsible for collection costs and reasonable attorneys' fees allowed by the state of Colorado. Specific inquiries regarding returned payments should be directed to the Student Debt Management department in the Bursar’s Office at 303-492-5571 or toll free at 800-925-9844.
To dispute tuition and mandatory fee charges, you must make a formal appeal to the Tuition Dispute Committee by the end of the semester (last day of finals). Disputes will only be considered under extenuating circumstances, such as university error, recent medical condition, immediate family emergency, recent unanticipated financial problems, and verified non-attendence. Official documentation must be provided to substantiate the circumstances. You may obtain a dispute form at bursar.colorado.edu/billing/tuition-dispute/ or by contacting the Bursar’s Office Student Billing Department, Regent Administrative Center, 43 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-0043, 303-492-5381, or firstname.lastname@example.org. If you disagree with the charges and fail to avail yourself of the dispute process by the end of the semester, you will have been deemed to have waived your right to dispute the charges. For additional information on the dispute process, visit bursar.colorado.edu.
Withdrawal Policy Regarding Tuition and Fees
Students who pay the $200 confirmation deposit and register for classes for any given semester are obligated to pay full tuition and fees for that semester, unless they officially withdraw from the university during certain deadlines.
Tuition and fee obligations for withdrawing students are as follows (for fall and spring semesters):
Continuing students: Students who withdraw during the full refund period (or the full refund of tuition, fees, and confirmation deposit period) will have their confirmation deposit refunded unless there are any outstanding charges.
New and readmitted students: New, readmitted, and transfer students are not eligible for a refund of the confirmation deposit.
Deadlines to withdraw with no financial penalty vary by semester but occur some time before the first day of instruction. Visit www.colorado.edu/registrar/withdrawing-university for the refund and assessment schedule.
If students withdraw after the “deadline to withdraw and not be assessed a financial penalty” but before 11:59 p.m. on the third Wednesday of instruction, they are assessed a $200 withdrawal processing fee. The confirmation deposit is automatically credited towardss the withdrawal fee.
After the third Wednesday of instruction, or the first drop deadline, there are three additional assessment periods.
- From the third Wednesday of instruction through the fifth Wednesday, students will only be charged 40 percent of total tuition (not including the portion of tuition paid by COF for in-state undergraduate students) and mandatory fees (CUSG student fees, athletic fee, and capital construction fee) for providing a reason on their withdrawal form.
- After the fifth Wednesday of instruction through the seventh Wednesday, students will be charged 60 percent of total tuition (not including the portion of tuition paid by COF for in-state undergraduate students) and mandatory fees (CUSG student fees, athletic fee, and capital construction fee) for providing a reason on their withdrawal form.
- After the seventh Wednesday of instruction tuition will not be adjusted. In the case of extenuating circumstances (university error, recent medical condition, immediate family emergency, recent unanticipated financial problems, or verification of non-attendance), students may dispute tuition and mandatory fee charges through the Bursar's Office. College Opportunity Fund hours are expended and not refunded with withdrawals after the published deadline.
To comply with federal financial aid regulations, financial aid recipients’ loan and scholarship awards may be adjusted.
Students should visit www.colorado.edu/registrar for any changes, as the Board of Regents reserves the right to revise this schedule at any time. Refer to the Summer Session Catalog for information on the withdrawal policy and refund schedule for summer terms.
It is the responsibility of students to have all special services fees removed at the time of withdrawal. Otherwise, these fees become a financial obligation.
Students who do not pay the full amount due the university at the time of withdrawal must make arrangements for payment with the Student Debt Management department in the Bursar’s Office. All withdrawals are handled through the Office of the Registrar, Regent Administrative Center 101.
Individuals who wish to attend regularly scheduled classes for fall or spring terms may do so by obtaining auditor’s status.
To qualify for auditor’s status, the individual must be at least 18 years of age. Registered students, either enrolled or suspended, are not permitted to audit courses. If a registered student is interested in participating in a class without receiving credit, then the student must enroll in the course for no credit. Note: courses taken for no credit are assessed the same tuition rate as courses taken for credit.
Before purchasing the audit card, the auditor must first receive permission from the instructor to audit the class. Audit cards can be purchased at the Bursar’s Office located in the Regent Administrative Center starting two weeks prior to the first day of class. Written instructor permission for at least one class must be presented at the time of purchase. The cost of an audit card is equal to the rate for three credit hours at the in-state undergraduate tuition rate in the College of Arts and Sciences. The cost is a flat rate, and with instructor permission, auditors may audit as many classes as desired. Auditors will receive class instruction and library privileges only. Auditors must present their audit card to the instructor on the first day of class.
Audit cards are not refundable and expire at the end of the respective term. Spanish and Portuguese language classes and classes with a lab component or equipment use are not eligible for audits. Auditors should note that the Office of the Registrar does not record audited courses, therefore credit of these courses cannot be established.
Senior Auditors Program
Those 55 years and older qualify for the Senior Auditor Program's reduced audit rates. Those interested should contact the CU Alumni Association at 303-492-8484, or visit www.cualum.org/services/senior-auditors.