University of Colorado at Boulder Search A to Z Campus Map
University of Colorado at BoulderBoulder Faculty Assembly
University of Colorado at Boulder CU Search Links

BFA Nominations and Elections Committee

"The Nominations and Elections Committee shall be chaired by the elected Secretary of the Assembly and will include the two At Large Members of the Executive Committee, three members elected from Arts and Sciences representatives, and three members elected from non-Arts and Sciences representatives. The Committee shall supervise the conduct of the nominations and elections of the members of the Assembly, its officers, and its committee chairs and committee members, and shall determine methods for filling temporary vacancies on the Assembly and its committees, subject to the provisions of these Bylaws and as provided by the Standing Rules of the Boulder Faculty Assembly. The Committee shall recommend to the Executive Committee faculty members for appointment to campus-wide committees, as requested by the administration. The Committee shall review the apportionment of the Assembly’s membership and adjust it to ensure a fair distribution of representation among the members of the Faculty Senate at least every ten years." BFA Standing Rules, Article V, Section 1(k).

Annual Report 2012-2013

COMING SOON - Click here to download the Committee's Annual Report for 2012-2013 (pdf). Election results are available on the BFA Election Page.

Committee Resources

2013-2014 Committee Roster

Name Committee Seat Unit CB PH E-MAIL term exp
Adam Norris - CHAIR BFA Secy  APPM 526 2-7566 ex-officio  
Peggy Jobe BFA At-large Exec  LIBR 184 2-4682 ex-officio  
Vacant BFA At-Large Exec         ex-officio  
Vacant BFA A & S Rep            
Carmen Grace BFA A & S Rep FRIT 238 2-5768    
Seth Hornstein BFA A & S Rep APS 391 2-5631    
Vacant BFA Other Units Rep            
Lakshmi Kantha BFA Other Units Rep ENGR 429 2-3014 1 2015
Vacant BFA Other Units Rep            

Annual Report 2011-2012

BFA Nominations and Elections Committee Report
May 6, 2012

The Nominations and Elections Committee (NEC) instituted for the first time this year an exclusively electronic balloting system.  (Previous NECs used either paper balloting, or a combination of both paper and e-balloting.)  In advance of the actual election, we tested the balloting system several times and sent a brief message to Senate members calling for nominations.  As a result, we enjoyed a successful and glitch-free election. 

GOALS: We hoped this year to encourage large voter turnout, to have contested elections, and to fill most or all Committee seats. 

RESULTS: We managed approximately to double the previous BFA voter- participation record, to hold contested elections for many positions, and to fill all Committee vacancies. 

 RECOMMENDATIONS: We recommend that the all-electronic balloting system be continued next year. As always, it is a good idea to commence Committee activities early.

We are indebted to BFA Coordinator Sierra Swearingen-Todd not only for her tireless assistance in all stages of the NEC work, but also for her expertise in managing the election software.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine Kunce, BFA Secretary and NEC Chair
Greg Carey, Committee Member
Peggy Jobe, Committee Member
Maw Der Foo, Committee Member


Home | Contact Us
303-492-5606, Campus Box 428, Boulder, CO, 80309
© Regents of the University of Colorado