cassano

John Cassano

Associate Professor and Associate Chair
ATOC and CIRES
Meteorology and climate of the polar regions, regional climate modeling, numerical weather prediction, mesoscale and boundary layer processes
cassano@cires.colorado.edu     303-492-2221
friedrich

Katja Friedrich

Associate Professor
ATOC
Investigation of kinematic and microphysical processes relevant for cloud formation and change of precipitation; conduct modeling, analysis and field studies in cloud physics
katja.friedrich@colorado.edu     303-492-2041
han

Weiqing Han

Professor
ATOC
Tropical ocean circulation, dynamics, air-sea interaction, climate variability and change
weiqing.han@colorado.edu     303-735-3079
hart headshot

John Hart

Professor Emeritus
ATOC
Astrogeophysical fluid dynamics, planetary atmospheres,and microscopic interfacial phenomena
hart3d@comcast.net     303-735-4384
Alexandra Jahn

Alexandra Jahn

Assistant Professor
ATOC and INSTAAR
Climate Modeling, Arctic Ocean and sea ice variability, freshwater, paleoclimate, modeling isotopes and geotracers, climate model evaluation
alexandra.jahn@colorado.edu     303-735-3352
Kris Karnauskas

Kris Karnauskas

Assistant Professor
ATOC and CIRES
Dynamics of the tropical ocean and atmosphere as a coupled system, its interaction with ecosystems and with higher latitude regions, how and why the climate system has changed in the past, and how climate will continue to change in the future–both naturally and as driven by human activities
kay

Jen Kay

Assistant Professor
ATOC and CIRES
Cloud and aerosol processes and their influence on the coupled climate system, recent and projected Arctic sea ice loss, climate model evaluation and improvement using data assimilation and satellite observations, and communicating climate science
jennifer.e.kay@colorado.edu     303-492-6289
Jan Lenaerts

Jan Lenaerts

Assistant Professor
ATOC
Interaction between the ice and snow in the polar regions and the remainder of the global climate system
lovenduski

Nicole Lovenduski

Assistant Professor
ATOC and INSTAAR
Marine carbon cycle, ocean climate variability and change, ocean modeling
nicole.lovenduski@colorado.edu     303-492-5259
lundquist

Julie Lundquist

Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor
ATOC and NREL
Boundary-layer meteorology, numerical weather prediction, large-eddy simulations, renewable energy applications, urban meteorology and climatology
julie.lundquist@colorado.edu     303-492-8932
pilewskie

Peter Pilewskie

Professor
ATOC and LASP
Atmospheric radiative transfer; cloud and aerosol remote sensing; radiative energy budget analysis
Cora Randall

Cora Randall

Professor
ATOC and LASP
Satellite remote sensing, middle atmosphere chemistry and transport, energetic particle precipitation, polar mesospheric clouds
cora.randall@colorado.edu     303-492-8208
Sebastian Schmidt

Sebastian Schmidt

Associate Professor
ATOC and LASP
Atmospheric and surface remote sensing. Radiative energy budget studies from aircraft, space, and from the ground. Development of aircraft measurement strategies and instrumentation. Quantify cloud, aerosol, and gas radiative effects in different regions of the globe through aircraft/satellite observations and radiative transfer calculations.
toohey

Darin Toohey

Professor
ATOC
Observations of aerosols and trace gases in Earth's atmosphere from the ground to the middle stratosphere. Influences on climate, chemistry, and air quality
toohey@colorado.edu     303-735-0002
toon

O. Brian Toon

Professor
ATOC and LASP
Radiative transfer; cloud physics: atmospheric chemistry; planetary atmospheres
brian.toon@lasp.colorado.edu     303-492-1534
Jeff Weiss

Jeffrey Weiss

Professor and Department Chair
ATOC
Geophysical turbulence, coherent structures, fluid transport, predictability, stochastic models
jeffrey.weiss@colorado.edu     303-492-7263