Jen Leight earns Anseth Group Employee of the Month

June 3, 2013

Jen Leight has been named the Anseth Group June Employee of the Month for her superlative efforts in running the biological side of the lab and recently submitted paper. Congratulations Jen!

Daniel McKinnon wins CU Graduate School Travel Grant to Present at the Fall AIChE Meeting

May 27, 2013

Daniel McKinnon has been awarded the Graduate School Travel Grant to travel to the Fall AIChE Meeting in San Francisco to present a paper titled "Covalently Adaptable Networks As Biophysical-ECM Mimics for Cell Culture."

Dylan Donohue earns the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award from the Department of Chemical Engineering

May 6, 2013

Dylan Donohue, working with Danny Alge on tetrazine crosslinked PEG hydrogels, was recongized for his hard work taking home the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award at the annual Chemical Engineering Department awards ceremony.

Sarah Gould earns May Anseth Group Employee of the Month Award

May 2, 2013

Sarah Gould's five years of exemplary service to the Anseth Group is being recognized this month as she takes the crown of May Employee of the Month. Congratulations Sarah!

Katie Lewis awarded Whitaker International Summer Grant

April 30, 2013

Katie Lewis was awarded the Whitaker International Summer Grant to do research with Prof. Justin Cooper-White at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia for 2 months this summer. Congratulations Katie.

Kristi Anseth elected to the National Academy of Science

April 30, 2013

Upon being elected to the National Academy of Science, Kristi Anseth is one of a small group of scientists elected to all three national academies. Congratulations Kristi!

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Daniel McKinnon's article one of the top ten most-accessed in Biomaterials Science in February

April 25, 2013

Daniel McKinnon's article "Synthetic hydrogel platform for three-dimensional culture of embryonic stem cell-derived motor neurons," published in Biomaterials Science, was one of the top ten most-accessed for February.

Kristi Anseth featured on the front page of The Daily Camera

April 22, 2013

The Daily Camera featured Kristi's receipt of the Hazel Barnes page on its front page. Congrats again Kristi!

Kristi Anseth awarded CU Boulder's top honor, the Hazel Barnes Prize

April 15, 2013

Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth was awarded the 2013 Hazel Barnes Prize, the highest recognition given to a CU-Boulder faculty member for research and teaching. 

Past ChBE recipients of this award include John Falconer in 2008 and Klaus Timmerhaus in 1992.

ChBE faculty have now received this honor 3 of the 22 times it has been awarded.

Chris Koehler and Daniel Alge's paper "A Diels-Alder Modulated Approach to Control and Sustain the Release of Dexamethasone and Induce Osteogenic Differentiation of Human Mesenchymal Stem Cells" was highlighted in Mesenchymal Cell News

April 4, 2013

From Mesenchymal Cell News:

Researchers report a new approach to controlled drug release based upon exploiting the dynamic equilibrium that exists between Diels-Alder reactants and products, demonstrating the release of a furan containing dexamethasone peptide from a maleimide containing hydrogel. Using a reaction-diffusion model, the release kinetics were tuned to achieve sustained concentrations conducive to osteogenic differentiation of human mesenchymal stem cells.