CU:Home | Search | A to Z | Map  
 
  
    

Colloquium Schedule - Spring 2017

All talks are held in the Benson Earth Sciences Auditorium (180) every Wednesday at 4:00 pm unless otherwise noted.
Anyone wishing to be put on a visiting speaker's schedule for a one-on-one meeting, group lunch,
or group dinner, please email the contact listed below.
**Refreshments are served at 3:30 on the 2nd floor**
Date Speaker Affiliation Title Scheduling Contact
1/18 Andreas Kappler Universität Tübingen Geomicrobiological Processes in Banded Iron formations Seb Kopf (sebastian.kopf@colorado.edu)
1/25 Eric Kirby Oregon State University Geomorphic evidence for co-seismic slip along an active low-angle normal fault in Panamint Valley, CA Karl Mueller (Karl.Mueller@colorado.edu)
Phil Orlandini (orlandin@colorado.edu)
2/1 Michael Willis CIRES/CU Geology Catastrophic Collapse of an Arctic Ice Cap Anne Sheehan (Anne.Sheehan@colorado.edu)
2/8 Colloquium Feedback Snack Hour
2/15 Hari Rajaram CU Boulder Modeling the Environmental Impacts of Hydraulic Fracturing David Budd (David.Budd@colorado.edu)
2/22 Francis Macdonald Harvard University Neoproterozoic glaciation, oxygenation, and the rise of animals David Budd (David.Budd@colorado.edu)
Mon
2/27
Elizabeth Trower Cal Tech Sediment Transport in Carbonate Environments: A Case Study on the Role of Abrasion in Ooid Growth David Budd (David.Budd@colorado.edu)
3/1 Irina Overeem INSTAAR How High-Amplitude Sedimentary Signals are Transferred in Arctic Systems David Budd (David.Budd@colorado.edu)
3/8 Vamsi Ganti Imperial College - London Reading the “Internal Clock” of River Deltas: Mechanics of Sedimentary Landscapes across Human and Geologic Timescales David Budd (David.Budd@colorado.edu)
3/15 Donald Runnells CU Emeritus Chasing a Geochemical Ambulance --- the Science Behind a Major Lawsuit Emily Fairfax (Emily.Fairfax@colorado.edu)
3/22 Christine Regalla Boston University A tale of two forearcs: Noetectonics in northeast Japan and Cascadia Karl Mueller (Karl.Mueller@colorado.edu)
Phil Orlandini (orlandin@colorado.edu)
3/29 No Colloquium - Spring Break
4/5 Daniela Rubatto Australian National University, Canberra, ACT, Australia Fast and furious or slow and steady: rates of subduction and crustal melting (with potential lunch talk) Phil Orlandini (orlandin@colorado.edu)
Lon Abbott (Lon.Abbott@colorado.edu)
Stephen Mojzsis (Stephen.Mojzsis@Colorado.EDU)
4/12 Jess Adkins Caltech Coupling between the carbon and sulfur cycles from measurements of modern rivers and Cenozoic carbonates Tom Marchitto (Thomas.Marchitto@Colorado.EDU)
Brigitta Rongstad (Brigitta.Rongstad@Colorado.EDU)
4/19 Andy Darling CSU Carving the Grand Canyon and Places Like it: Developments Toward the Integration History of the Colorado River Lon Abbott (Lon.Abbott@colorado.edu)
Charlie Shobe (Charles.Shobe@Colorado.EDU)
4/26 Kevin Uno Columbia Isotopes & ivory: Geochemical approaches to wildlife forensics, elephant ecology, and paleoclimate Katie Snell (Kathryn.snell@colorado.edu)
5/3 Don Duggan-Haas Paleontological Research Institution and its Museum of the Earth The Obstacles Are Largely the Same: On Climate Change and Education Reform Emily Fairfax (Emily.Fairfax@Colorado.EDU)
Megan Brown (Megan.R.Brown@Colorado.EDU)
 

Questions, comments or suggestions for future speakers may be directed to:
Emily Fairfax



Geological Sciences
University of Colorado Boulder
UCB 399
Boulder, CO 80309-0399