University of Colorado at Boulder Search A to Z Campus Map
University of Colorado at BoulderBoulder Faculty Assembly
University of Colorado at Boulder CU Search Links

Faculty Organizations

There are several types of faculty governance organizations at the University of Colorado:

  • Each campus has a Faculty Assembly, composed of representatives from each department on campus. The Assemblies are democratically elected bodies, representing all faculty on campus (the "Faculty Senate").
  • Each campus' Faculty Senate is composed of all faculty on that campus. A faculty senate will often have its own democratic process and its own set of 'Standing Rules.' The Boulder Campus Faculty Senate meets once per year, concurrently with a meeting of the Boulder Faculty Assembly.
  • The system-wide Faculty Council is a group of representatives from each of CU’s four campuses. Faculty Council and its committees interface with the President's office and the Board of Regents.
  • Larger colleges and schools within the University also have faculty governance organizations, interfacing with their respective Deans.
  • While not traditionally thought of as "faculty governance" organizations, each department's separate faculty are included in this list because they meet regularly to consider issues of concern to faculty and have primary authority for academic decisions within their departments.
Home | Contact Us
303-492-5606, Campus Box 428, Boulder, CO, 80309
© Regents of the University of Colorado