DOCTYPE html> People|PWR|University of Colorado Boulder
Environmental Design Building
1060 18th Street
ENVD Rm. 1B60
317 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309
(303) 492 8188 | pwr@colorado.edu

Meet Our People

STAFF


Name What We Do Contact
Linda Nicita, Ph.D. Program Administrator With 23 years of experience at CU and previous experience as a Lecturer and an Instructor in the Program for Writing and Rhetoric, Linda seamlessly administrates over 80 faculty members, 285 classes a semester, and offices in 5 buildings at CU Boulder. Since 2007 she has been, undoubtedly, the driving force of the PWR and is essential to its success. ENVD 1B70
(303) 735-5464
linda.nicita@colorado.edu
Tomas Mendez Administrative Assistant II Among many other duties, Tommy provides technical support to faculty and staff while maintaining good cheer and a zen attitude in the office. He masterfully organizes events, quarterbacks survey administration, and ensures constant communication between faculty, staff, and students.

1B60
(303) 492-8188
Tomas.Mendez@Colorado.edu
Melynda SlaughterAdministrative Assistant III Melynda performs office managerial duties to support the Program. Such support includes managing its security operations and technology to ensure effective delivery of program services. She works closely with faculty, staff and students to resolve problems, answer questions, provide information and advise on technical and administrative issues. Additionally, Melynda advises the Program Administrator, analyzes budgetary needs and recommends solutions. 1B60
(303) 735-6906
melynda.slaughter@colorado.edu
Annette Mitchell Writing Center Manager
Administrative Assistant III
Annette is the first person writers meet when they enter the Writing Center to ask about services, make appointments, or get help with the scheduling software. As the Writing Center Office Manager, Annette coordinates day-to-day scheduling at Norlin and satellite locations around campus. She ensures that consultants and writers have what they need for successful meetings—about 4000 annually. Annette is also responsible for compiling and formatting data to facilitate reporting and assessment needs of the Writing Center and PWR.

Norlin E111
(303) 735-6906
annette.mitchell@colorado.edu
Kathy InkhamfongStudent Assistant II, Writing Center Kathy is a senior majoring in Integrative Physiology and enjoys being a member of the CU Hiking Club. As a born leader, she's also a member of the CU Gold Core Leadership Program. Before she becomes a leader in the medical field, she's currently assisting Annette in the Writing Center. Norlin E111
(303) 735-6906

ADMINISTRATION


Name What We Do Contact
John-Michael Rivera, Ph.D.Director John-Michael Rivera is an award winning writer of both scholarly and creative writing. In addition to working as the Director of the Program, he currently works on theories of On-Line Writing, Latino Studies, Creative Nonfiction, Archival and Information Studies, New Media Studies, and Digital and Intermedia Compositions. ENVD 1B65
(303) 735-5654
jrivera@colorado.edu
John Ackerman, Ph.D.Associate Director of Residential Academic Programs & Sustainability Dr. Ackerman is a leading scholar in the areas of civic life, rhetoric in everyday, and collective memory studies. For the PWR he provides administrative leadership across program initiatives, including personnel (recruitment, retention, and reappointment), budgets, curriculum and campus and community planning. He develops programs and curricula devoted to sustainability and resiliency.

ENVD 1B61
(303) 492-8015
john.ackerman@colorado.edu
Steve Lamos, Ph.D. Associate Director for Personnel, WAC, and Graduate Studies Dr. Lamos continues his direction of the Writing Center, working with Associate Director Eric Klinger for the Center, including writing-across-the- curriculum workshops as well as liaison work with the graduate school, first-year writing in the PWR, Residential Academic Programs, and the professional schools. Dr. Lamos provides tenure-track faculty leadership in all personnel issues for the program, including guidelines for merit, re-appointment, salary equity and related issues. He facilitates a regional and statewide discussion of the status of contingent faculty at UCB in pursuit of consistent standards and disciplinary affiliation.

STAD 266 C
(303) 735-5693
steve.lamos@colorado.edu
Rolf Norgaard, Ph.D. Associate Director for Assessment, Upper-Division Curriculum, and CCHE Dr. Norgaard is responsible for:
  • Assessment initiatives in the PWR, including the NSSE/WPA survey, course and syllabi review, and membership on the campus-wide Assessment Oversight Committee.
  • Curricular design at the upper-division, including participating in the establishment of a standing Curriculum Committee to develop and oversee all WRTG curriculum in collaboration with the Director, other Associate Directors and Coordinators.
  • Faculty policy, including but not limited to work on implementing, in the PWR and campus-wide, the BFA recommendations on instructors.
  • Liaising with the College of Engineering for purposes of ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) review.

ENVD 1B64
(303) 492-3605
rolf.norgaard@colorado.edu
Lonni Pearce, Ph.D. Associate Director for First-Year Writing Dr. Pearce is responsible for oversight of all first-year writing courses including curriculum and assessment and providing pedagogical resources for faculty. In addition, she works with the Library, RAPs, and Student Affairs on programmatic and policy issues related to first-year writing and the first-year experience.

ENVD 1B27D
(303) 492-4478
lonni.pearce@colorado.edu
Veronica House, Ph.D. Associate Director for Service Learning and Outreach Dr. House is responsible for directing the Writing Initiative for Service and Engagement (WISE) as well as setting the direction for and helping to write curriculum for community-engaged and public writing in the PWR, including building digital humanities curriculum into current civic engagement goals. In addition, Dr. House serves as the PWR liaison to the IECE as well as to Office of the Vice Chancellor for Outreach and Engagement, and she coordinates all city and county “community partner” contacts with the PWR. In AY 2013-14, she will spearhead the PWR’s preparations to host the first national Conference on Civic, Public, and Community Writing.

ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4774
veronica.house@colorado.edu
Eric Klinger, MA Associate Director for the Writing Center, Peer Tutoring Eric Klinger directs operations for the CU-Boulder Writing Center housed in Norlin Library with satellite locations across campus. This popular academic support service provides over 4000 annual contact hours for CU students, faculty, and alumni. He is responsible for recruiting, hiring, training, mentoring, and assessing a staff of 20-30 writing consultants comprising adjunct faculty, graduate teaching assistants and undergraduate peer tutors. Eric guides the Writing Center’s pedagogical development and resources in consultation with CU faculty and administrators. In recent years, he has overseen the development of the Graduate Writing Support (GWS) and the Peer Writing Tutors programs. Eric is currently working with the Residential Academic Programs (RAPs) to create Writers’ Lounges that will expand access to writing support for first-year and international students. Eric is a member of the International Writing Centers Association and presents at regional and international conferences. LIBR E111
(303) 492-1690
eric.klinger@colorado.edu
Kathryn Pieplow, J.D.Associate Director for Faculty Development & Curricular Oversight Ms. Pieplow is responsible for oversight of all professional development plans and activities for faculty at all ranks including, but not limited to, new faculty/lecturer training and syllabus review Ms. Pieplow offers workshops, as necessary, throughout the semester and oversees mentoring assignments. In addition, Ms. Pieplow schedules the PWR's "black bag" seminars, coordinates training with the various initiatives, and spearheads the re-design of the PWR faculty resources website.

ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4679
kathryn.pieplow@colorado.edu
Michelle Albert, MA, MFA Coordinator for Information Literacy, Norlin Research Ms. Albert is responsible for how PWR collaborates with Norlin Library to develop "information literacy" as a theme and practice across the PWR curriculum. She coordinates all necessary workshops for faculty, advises on related information on PWR websites, and works closely with the First-Year committee to evaluate how to best deliver "information literacy" to first-year students. Her project this year is to extend advanced "information literacy" to upper-division students.

ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4385
michelle.albert@colorado.edu
Andrea Feldman, Ph.D.Coordinator for English as a Second Language Writers Andrea Feldman initiated and coordinates the Program for Writing and Rhetoric's ESL program in first-year writing and in scientific and professional writing. She holds a Ph.D. in Cognitive Linguistics, specializing in Language Acquisition. In her role as Coordinator, Andrea liaises with the Office of International Education and other departments on campus as well as in the PWR. She conducts workshops for faculty, developing resources that complement our curricular needs, and supports the teaching activities of the ESL instructors.

TB01 RM 204
(303) 492-6011
feldman@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Coordinator for Conflict Resolution Dr. Dickson hears and resolves all disagreements and complaints between faculty and students in PWR classes with regard to consistency in teaching and evaluation as well as FERPA compliance. ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Petger Schaberg, MA Coordinator for Writing Technology, Digital Learning Mr. Schaberg is responsible for assessing where, how, and with what cost the PWR adopts the tenets of Digital Learning. In this role, Mr. Schaberg evaluates faculty skill levels vis a vis national standards and precedents for teaching writing and rhetoric through digital technology. He also liaises with the 'digital humanities initiative,' ASSETT, and other initiatives on campus and elsewhere.

TB01 RM 4A
(303) 735-4673
petger.schaberg@colorado.edu
Paula Wenger, MA Coordinator for Upper-Division and Professional Writing Ms. Wenger is responsible for coordinating all upper-division courses, including compliance with CCHE criteria and requisite faculty development, student awards, and new course proposals. In addition, she liaises with the professional schools that support the upper division and keeps PWR courses current in the area of technical and professional writing.

STAD 266D
(303) 735-6791
paula.wenger@colorado.edu
Merrit Dukehart, Ph.D.Continuing Education Liaison Dr. Dukehart is responsible for Continuing Education courses offered by the Program for Writing and Rhetoric. She is the direct liaison to the CE office for our roster faculty who teach CE courses. ENVD 1B80
(303) 735-4772
merrit.dukehart@colorado.edu

FACULTY


f
Name What We Teach Contact
Mary Angeline, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040
STAD 260-A
303-492-2491
mary.angeline@colorado.edu
Gloria Adamson,MA Lecturer WRTG 1150
STAD 260 B
303-492-2561
gloria.adamson@colorado.edu
Harry Archer, MA GPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-B
303-735-6594
henry.archer@colorado.edu
Sharon Beck, MALecturer WRTG 1250, WRTG 3007
1B27-H
(303) 735-4789
sharon.beck@colorado.edu
Kelly Bradbury, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020
TB01 RM 208
303-492-9203
kelly.bradbury@colorado.edu
Matthew Bradney, MA GPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-B
303-735-6594
matthew.bradney@colorado.edu
Eric Burger, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040
STAD 266 E
(303) 492-7280
burgere@colorado.edu
Sigman Byrd, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3040
TB01 RM 4
(303) 492-4764
sigman.byrd@colorado.edu
Jennifer Campbell, MALecturer WRTG 1100 (ESL sections)
GRDV C1B85
(303)492-6586
jennifer.campbell-1@colorado.edu
Kelsey Cody, MSGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50-A
(303) 735-4793
kelsey.cody@colorado.edu
Dawn Colley, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 3020, WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B30-B
(303) 735-6473
Colley@colorado.edu
Jennifer Cullison, MA in History, MA in Religious Studies GPTI WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B50-A
303-735-6594
jennifer.cullison@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Lisa Donovan, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50G
(303)735-6466
Lisa.S.Donovan@Colorado.edu
Damian Doyle, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020 TB01 3
(303) 735-2861
damian.doyle@colorado.edu
Steve Duman, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62C

steven.duman@colorado.edu
Douglas Dupler, MALecturer WRTG 3030 GRDV C1B70
(303) 492-8634
douglas.dupler@colorado.edu
Christina Eisert, MALecturer WRTG 3030 GRDV C110-A
(303) 735-4512
christina.eisert@colorado.edu
Jay Ellis, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 2090 - "Journal Twenty Twenty," WRTG 1150 TB01 Rm 206
(303) 492-0663
jay.ellis@colorado.edu
Maryanne Fantalis, JDLecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 1250
(303)492-2903
Maryanne.Fantalis@Colorado.EDU
Tracy Ferrell, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020 GRDV C185
(303) 492-3515
tracy.ferrell@colorado.edu
Alexander Fobes, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50H
(303) 735-6465
alexander.fobes@colorado.edu
Justin Gautreau, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020, WRTG 1150 (ESL sections) ENVD 1B27-F

Justin.Gautreau@Colorado.edu
Gail Georgeson, J.D., MALecturer WRTG 3020,WRTG 1150 (ESL sections) ENVD 1B27-E
(303) 735-4661
gail.georgeson@colorado.edu
Amy Goodloe, MA, MEdInstructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3090 GRDV C153
(303) 492-1298
agoodloe@colorado.edu
Sally Green, MA, R.S.A. Dip.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030 STAD 266 B
(303) 492-7290
sally.green@colorado.edu
Laurie Gries,Ph.D.Assistant Professor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B63
303-735-5693
laurie.gries@colorado.edu
Orin Hargraves, BA Lecturer WRTG 3030
GRVD C1B70
(303_735-7196
orin.hargraves@colorado.edu
Rachel Rocha, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B30-D
303-735-1565
rachel.hawley@colorado.edu
Orly Hersh, MAInstructor WRTG 1150 (COMM RAP) BUCK S120, TB01 Rm 208
(303) 492-2171, (303) 492-2903
orly.hersh@colorado.edu
Matthew Henningson,Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B50-D

matthew.henningson@colorado.edu
Kurtis Hessel,MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A

kurtis.hessel@colorado.edu
Gary Hink, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27-C
(303) 735-4776
gary.hink@colorado.edu
Juhi Huda,MAGTPI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B30-B
(303)735-6473
Juhi.Huda@Colorado.EDU
Jamal Khlifat, MA GPTI WRTG 1150


Jamal.Khlifat@Colorado.EDU
Jaime Kirtz, MA GPTI WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B50-C
303-735-6594
jaime.kirtz@colorado.edu
Eliza Klinger, MAInstructor WRTG 1100 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
eliza.klinger@colorado.edu
Ginger Knowlton, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
ginger.knowlton@colorado.edu
Elizabeth Koebele, MS GPTI WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B50-C
303-735-3734
elizabeth.koebele@colorado.edu
Peter Kratzke, Ph.D.Senior Instructor STAD 266C
(303) 492-7282
peter.kratzke@colorado.edu
Catherine Kunce, Ph.D.Senior Instructor TB01 RM 9
(303) 492-3821
catherine.kunce@colorado.edu
Eileen Lagman, Ph.D.Assistant Professor WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B27-B
303-735-4385
eileen.lagman@colorado.edu
Catherine Lasswell, MEd, R.S.A. Dip.Instructor 3020 and 3020/3030/3040 GRDV C153
(303) 492-1298
catherine.lasswell@colorado.edu
Justin Latici,MFAInstructor TB01 RM 9

justin.latici@colorado.edu
Joe Lennon, Ph.DLecturer WRTG 1100,WRTG 1150 GRDV C1B85
303-492-6586 joseph.lennon@colorado.edu
Daniel Levine, MFA Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
TB01 202
303-735-3058
daniel.levine@colorado.edu
Daniel Long, MAInstructor WRTG 3030, WRTG 3040 ENVD 1B50H
(303) 735-4665
dannylong449@gmail.com
Margaret Luebs, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B27-G
303-735-4674
margaret.luebs@colorado.edu
Timothy Lyons, MAInstructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 STAD 260 B
(303) 492-2561
tim.lyons@colorado.edu
Christine Macdonald, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020,WRTG 1250 ENVD 1B62-A
(303) 735-5258
christine.macdonald@colorado.edu
Sarah Massey–Warren, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3020,WRTG 3040 GRDV C1B85
(303) 492-6586
sarah.massey-warren@colorado.edu
Andrew McFadyen-Ketchum, MFA Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B30-D
303-735-6467
andrew.mcfadyenketchum@colorado.edu
Raul Melgoza, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A
303-492-1738
raul.melgoza@Colorado.EDU
Olivia Miller, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1250 ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4679
olivia.miller@colorado.edu
Young Kyung Min, Ph.DInstructor WRTG 1150 ,WRTG 1150 (ESL sections) ENVD 1B80
303-492-4772
young.min@colorado.edu
Marlene Miyamoto, MA, MBA GPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-A
303-735-3734
marlene.miyamoto@colorado.edu
Emily Morgan, MA Lecturer WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020


emily.r.morgan@colorado.edu
Seth Myers, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B80
(303) 735-4772
seth.myers@colorado.edu
Tobin von der Nuell, MAInstructor WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 2A
(303) 492-4396
vondernu@colorado.edu
Christopher Ostro, MA Lecturer WRTG 3020,WRTG 1250,WRTG 1150
GRDV C1B70OSTRO.JPG
303-735-4663
christopher.ostro@colorado.edu
Martha Patton, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B62-A
303-735-5258
martha.patton@colorado.edu
Lonni Pearce, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B27-D
(303) 492-4478
lonni.pearce@colorado.edu
Nathan Pieplow, MAInstructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B27-C
(303) 735-4776
nathan.pieplow@colorado.edu
Naomi Rachel, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020,WRTG 3030 1B30-B
(303)810-1124
naomi.rachel@colorado.edu
Samira Rajabi, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A

samira.rajabi@colorado.edu
Kerry Reilly, MFASenior Instructor WRTG 2020, WRTG 3007 GRDV C185
(303) 492-3515
kerry.reilly@colorado.edu
Petger Schaberg, MASenior Instructor WRTG 1150,WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B30B
(303) 735-4673
petger.schaberg@colorado.edu
Rachel Schmitt, BA GPTI WRTG 1150

ENVD 1B62-C-B
(303) 492-8188
rachel.schmitt@colorado.edu
Maria Sclafani, MALecturer WRTG 1100,WRTG 3020 1B50-F
(303) 735-3058
maria.sclafani@colorado.edu
Patricia Sullivan, Ph.D.Professor WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27A
(303) 735-5055
patricia.sullivan@colorado.edu
Levente Szentkirályi, MA in Philosophy, MA in Political Science GPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-C

szentkiralyi@colorado.edu
James Walker, Ph.D.Instructor TB01 RM 202
(303) 492-3606
James.F.Walker@colorado.edu
Tara Walker, MFALecturer WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50-E

tara.g.walker@colorado.edu
Paula Wenger, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3020,WRTG 3040 STAD 266 D
(303) TBD
paula.wenger@colorado.edu
Don Wilkerson, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030 TB01 RM 202
(303) 492-3606
donald.wilkerson@colorado.edu
Michael Zizzi, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040 ENVD 1B50-G
(303) 735-4668
michael.zizzi@colorado.edu