University of Colorado at Boulder CU-Boulder Home CU-Boulder Search CU-Boulder A to Z Campus Map

Center for Humanities and the Arts announces:

Eaton Faculty Awards for Outstanding Achievement in the Humanities, Arts and Music

The Center for Humanities and the Arts (CHA) at the University of Colorado at Boulder is pleased to announce this year's winners of the annual Eaton Faculty Awards for distinguished research and creative achievement.  Funding for the awards, $1500 each, has been provided by an endowment from Leslie and Woody Eaton, long-time supporters of the humanities and arts at CU-Boulder.  The winners, chosen from among many outstanding candidates, were selected by a subcommittee of CHA's faculty steering committee.  The winners of the 2008 Eaton Faculty Awards are:

Sigman Byrd, Writing and Rhetoric Program, Under the Wanderer's Star (Marsh Hawk Press: April 2006)

Jay Ellis, Writing and Rhetoric Program, No Place for Home: Spatial Constraint and Character Flight in the Novels of Cormac McCarthy (Routledge: August 2006)

Elissa Guralnick, College of Music, "'Ah, Clara, I Am Not Worthy of Your Love': Re-Reading Frauenliebe und Leben" (Music and Letters, 2006)

William Gustafson, College of Music, Dead Man Walking (University of Colorado Opera, October 2007)

Eckart Schutrumpf, Department of Classics, Aristoteles Politik Buch VII und VIII (Akademie Verlag: 2005)

We congratulate each winner, and look forward to next year's submissions!