Accessible Media, Web and Technology Conference for Education, for Businesses, for Web and Media Designers: Ninth Annual Conference
University of Colorado at Boulder CU Home Search the CU site A to Z index CU Map

About the Conference
   
Schedule Overview & Changes
   
Pre-Conference Agenda
   
Main Conference Agenda
   
Attendee Resources, Handouts & CEUs
   
Transportation & Accommodations
   
Registration
   
Special Events & Tracks
   
Exhibitors
AT Conference Home
Disability Services Home

Speakers and Handouts

Alice Anderson
University of Wisconsin - Madison
alice.anderson@doit.wisc.edu

Henry Huang
University of Wisconsin - Madison
huangh@doit.wisc.edu

Computer Access on Campus: Separate, Equal or Hybrid?
November 9, 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Shane Anderson
WebAIM

Captioning Media on the Web
November 10, 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.


Daniel Berkowitz
Boston Universitydjbrky@bu.edu

Geeklopedia: From Blog to Wiki - A Primer on Tech Terminology (v 2.0)
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m

Slide Presentation.

E-Text and DAISY Training @ Boston University
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Cathy Bodine
AT Partners
Cathy.Bodine@UCHSC.edu

Advancing Cognitive Technologies: Preliminary Research Results
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


George Buys
Talking Communities

Supporting E-learning With Accessible, Synchronous, Web Conferencing
November 9, 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Janice Carter
Benetech
janice.c@benetech.org

Nimas 101: the Basics of the New Accessible Digital Textbook Standard
November 9, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Dan Comden
University of Washington
danc@u.washington.edu

Math OCR used for Tactile Graphics
November 9, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Update on Automated Tactile Graphics
November 10, 9:.15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Norm Coombs
EASI
norm@easi.cc

Dick Banks
EASI
dick@easi.cc

Podcasts and Students With Disabilities in E-learning
November 9, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Designing Accessible Online Course Content
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Guido Corona
IBM

New IBM Technologies Benefiting Higher-education
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Gaier Dietrich
HTCTU
gdietrich@htctu.net

Using Duxbury to Create Braille
November 9, 45 p.m. 4:45 p.m.


Trace Donald
Auburn University
donaltd@auburn.edu

Improving Web Usability with Good Design Techniques and CSS
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Catherine Fichten
Dawson College
catherine.fichten@mcgill.ca

eLearning Problems and Solutions: An Empirical Study of Canadian Postsecondary Students with Disabilities, Campus Based Disability Service Providers, Faculty, and eLearning Specialists
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Shawn Foster
Southern Oregon University
fosters@sou.edu

A Foot on Each Platform: Supporting Students Using Macs on a Windows Campus
November 9, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Bryan Gould
NCAM
bryan_gould@wgbh.org

Effective Practices for describing STEM images in Digital Talking Books
November 9, 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.


Jon Gunderson
UIUC
jongund@uiuc.edu

Hadi Bargi Rangin
UIUC
hadi@uiuc.edu

Next Generation Tools for Creating and Evaluating Functional Web Accessibility
November 9, 9:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.

Accessibility Consortiums: a New Approach to Resolve IT Accessibility Issues
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Cynthia York
John Hopkins University
cyork@jhu.edu

Janine Harig
John Hopkins University
janine.harig@jhu.edu

Essential Job Specifications for Web Accessibility
November 9, 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

More Handouts

JHU Web Accessibility Timeline

Weaving Web Accessibility into an Organization

Planning


Elaine Huot
Success Streaming Learning
elhuot@mac.com

Supporting Reading and Writing with WYNN for the Adult Dyslexic Student
November 9, 2:15 p.m. - 3;15 p.m.


Sean Keegan
HTCTU
skeegan@htctu.net

Lab: Creating Accessible PDF Forms using Adobe Acrobat Professional
November 9, 9:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.


Jill Lenz
Colorado State University
jill.lenz@colostate.edu

Legacy Web Pages: Converting from HTML to XHTML
November 7, 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Got Small Files? When Smaller is Better
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

User-Centered Design Approach to Web Pages
November 10, 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.


Jim Long
Dept of Ed. OCR
Jim.Long@ed.gov

Section 504, Title II, and Disabilities of Students at the Post-Secondary Level
November 9, 9:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.


Karen McCall
Karlen Communications
karlen.communications@primus.ca

Creating Accessible PDF Documents
November 7, 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Introduction to Microsoft OneNote
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m


Pratik Patel
PeopleTech
patrikp11@lycos.com

Sherly Porter

Messing With Math and Sleeping With Science: the Road to Higher Education Access
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.


Vijay Patel
Colorado University
vijay.patel@colorado.edu

Unobtrusive Javascript. DOM scripting. Huh?
November 10, 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.

Vijay Patel
Colorado University
vijay.patel@colorado.edu

Steve Bailey
Colorado University

Tips and Tricks for accessible CSS
November 9, 2:15 p.m.- 3:15 p.m.


Greg Pisocky
Adobe Systems

Cross Media Publishing: PDF, HTML, and Print: The Accessibility Implications
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.


Saroj Primlani
NC State
saroj_primlani@ncsu.edu

Accessibility of Remote Access to Computing- Virtual Computing Labs at NC State
November 9, 2:15 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.


Clare Ramsaran
San Francisco State University
ramsaran@sfsu.edu

Kevin Kelly
San Francisco State University

Learning Management Systems and Accessibility
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3 p.m.


Marla Roll
Colorado State University
mcroll@CAHS.Colostate.edu

ACCESS to Postsecondary Education through Universal Design for Learning
November 10, 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.


Dave Schlappenbach
gh, LLC
engage@gh-accessibility.com

Brad hosac
gh, LLC

[EASI] Digital Talking Books for Math and Science
November 9, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Joel Snyder
Nat'l Captioning Institute
jsnyder@ncicap.org

Audio Description: The Visual Made Verbal
November 9, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m


Ron Stewart
Dolphin Computer Access Inc.
ron.stewart@dolphinusa.com

Gaeir Dietrich
High Tech Center Training Unit
gdietrich@htctu.net

The AHEAD Institute on E-Text Production
November 7, 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Jen Sweeney
Tool Factory, Inc.

Animation and Moving Creations
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Terry Thompson
AccessIT
tft@u.washington.edu

Accessible Online PowerPoint and alternatives
Novbember 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Terry Thompson
AccessIT
tft@u.washington.edu

Sheryl Burgstahler
DO-IT
sherylb@u.washington.edu

Research on Accessibility of Higher Education Websites
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Robert Todd
Georgia Tech
robert.todd@catea.org

Beyond HTML: Accessible Enhancements to Online Courses
November 9, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m..


Sharon Trerise
Cornell University
smt34@cornell.edu

Evaluating Online Admissions Application Systems for Accessibility and Usability
November 10, 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.

Jon Whiting
WebAIM
jonathan@cpd2.usu.edu

Shane Anderson
WebAIM

Lab: Web Accessibility Evaluation Tools and Techniques
November 9, 2:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.


Gerri Wolfe, Ph.D.
University of Georgia
gwolfe@uga.edu

Matoya Jones
University of Georgia
lilt@uga.edu

Kevin Karneboge
University of Georgia

Creating a Campus AT Lab Using Principles of Universal Design
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


For more information contact Disability Services at 303-492-8671 (v/tty), fax: 303-492-5601, or e-mail us at dsinfo@colorado.edu