Accessible Media, Web and Technology Conference for Education, for Businesses, for Web and Media Designers: Eighth Annual Conference
University of Colorado at Boulder CU Home Search the CU site A to Z index CU Map

Speaker Follow-Up Page (New)
About the Conference
 
Pre-Conference Agenda
Main Conference Agenda
Attendee Resources and Handouts
   
Transportation & Accommodations
   
Registration
 
  Vendors
   
AT Conference Home
Disability Services Home

Speakers and Handouts

Daniel Berkowitsz
Boston University
djberky@bu.edu

Geekopedia from blog to wiki - a primer for digital terminology
November 11, 11:40 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


Cathy Bodine
Assistive Technology Partners
Cathy.Bodine@UCHSC.edu

Cognitive Disability RERC-ACT
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Paul Bohman
WebAIM
paul@webaim.org

Training and assessment of Web accessibility competencies
November 10, 10:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.


Dr. Laura L. Border
University of Colorado - Boulder
laura.border@colorado.edu

Lauren Saenz
University of Colorado - Boulder

Supporting Instructors with Disabilities
November 11, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Janice Carter
Benetech
janice.c@benetech.org

Accessible eBooks: On-line, in the classroom and on the go!
November 11. 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


'Dan Comden
DO-IT, University of Wasington
danc@u.washington.edu

Automated Tactile Graphics Production
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Norm Coombs
EASI
norm@easi.cc

Dick Banks
EASI
dick@easi.cc

Making Accessible Narrated Powerpoint
November 11, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Norm Coombs
EASI
norm@easi.cc

Judith Dixon

Janice Carter
Benetech
janice.c@benetech.org

Steve Noble

Panel: Current Trends in Electronic Books
November 11, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Rene Clark
Freedom Scientific Learning Systems Group
reneec@freedomscientific.com

Using WYNN with SQ3R to Support Mastery of College-Level Curriculum
November 11, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Eric Damery
Freedom Scientific
EricD@freedomscientific.com

Lecture: JAWS for Windows CE and XP, a Powerful Choice
November 9, 9:00 a.m. 12:00 noon

Zip File of Eric's Presentation


Gaier Dietrich
HTCTV|
gdietrich@htctu.net

Using Word Templates to Create Braille in Duxbury 10;5
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.

Lab: Using Adobe Illustrator to Create Tactile Graphics
November 11, 8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.


Gaier Dietrich
HTCTV|
gdietrich@htctu.net

Sean Keegan
HTCTV
skeegan@ginko.htctu.fhda.edu

Lab: The Alternate Media Exchange Database 2.0. A Web-based application for alternate media specialists at the post-secondary level
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Cristi Harris
Rocky Mountain ADA & IT Center
charris@mtc-inc.com

AT Workplace Accommodations
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Brandon Fleisher
eCollege
brandonf@ecollege.com

eCollege takes CMS Accessibility to the Next Level
11:40 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


Daniel Frommelt
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
frommelt@uwplatt.edu

Benefits of Web Standards
November 11, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

Aural CSS & Voice XML - Improving Access while Maintaining Web Standards
November 11, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Cristi Harris
Rocky Mountain ADA & IT Center
charris@mtc-inc.com

Michael McFadden
Rocky Mountain ADA & IT Center
mmcfadden@mtc-inc.com

Accessible IT: The New Frontier (Accessible IT Overview) [Business Track Session]
November 10, 8:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.


Geoff Freed
NCAM
geoff_freed@wgbh.org

CaptionKeeper: cc video tape to digital format converter
November 10, 8:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m.

“Beyond the Text": Accessible Multimedia Within eBooks
November 10, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Kelly Jenkins
Learning Center Solutions
kelly@lcsllc.org

Lab: Hands-on Workshop of Kurzweil 3000 the leading software solution for struggling students
November 10 9:15 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Mary Ann Keatley, Ph.D., CCC, LLC
MAK7448@aol.com

Computer-assisted Training & Cognitive Rehabilitation in Traumatic Brain Injuries
November 11, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Randy Larscheidt
Adaptive Technologies
randylarscheidt@yahoo.com

ScanSoft products that are Essential Tools for the Assistive Technology Lab (Vendor Session)
November 11, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Jim Long
OCR, Denver
Jim.Long@ed.gov

OCR, Accessibility – Back to Basics
November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


John Lorimor
Convergence Concepts
John@ConvergenceConcepts.com

Marla Roll
Colorado State University
mcroll@CAHS.Colostate.edu

Cutting Edge Environmental Controls for the College Dorm Setting
November 11, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Michael McFadden
Rocky Mountain ADA & IT Center
mmcfadden@mtc-inc.com

Lab: Retrofitting Business Web sites for Accessibility using DreamWeaver
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.


Marge Mercurio
University of Nothern Colorado
marge.mercurio@unco.edu

Laurie MacDonald
University of Nothern Colorado
laurie.macdonald@unco.edu

Getting Through the Rough Times: Strategies to Help Struggling Students Succeed in College
November 10, 8:00 a.m. 10:00 a.m.

Educational Quality through Universal Instruction Principles (EQUIP): Exploring Possibilities, Issues, and Application

November 10, 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Jim Misener
Beyond Sight Inc.
jim@beyondsight.com

Seth LeBlond
Beyond Sight Inc.
seth@beyondsight.com

Lecture: New and Changing Technologies in the Blindness Field
November 9, 1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Ken Nakata
Bay First Solutions, LLC
ken.nakata@bayfirst.com

ADA Title II and Information Technology: What it Means and How to Comply
November 10, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.

Beyond All or Nothing in IT Disability Rights Legislation
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.


Ellen Perlow
Texas Woman's University
eperlow@hotmail.com

Descriptor Preferences of People with Accessibility Needs
November 11, 11:40 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


Marla Roll
Colorado State University
mcroll@CAHS.Colostate.edu

Kevin Nolan
Colorado State University
Kevin.Nolan@ColoState.EDU

From Grassroots to Policy - Web Accessibility at Colorado State University
November 10, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Axel Schmetzke
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
aschmetz@uwsp.edu

Accessibility of Online Resources in Academic Libraries
November 11, 9:15 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.


Maggie Sims
Rocky Mountain ADA & IT Center

Technology and Effective Communication
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m


Ron Stewart
Oregon State University
Ron.Stewart@orst.edu

Library e-Journal Accessibility – A Usability Study
November 11, 11:40 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


Ron Stewart
Oregon State University
Ron.Stewart@orst.edu

Gaier Dietrich
HTCTV|
gdietrich@htctu.net

The AHEAD Institute on E-Text Production: - Lecture: Managing an E-Text Production Initiative for your Campus
November 8, 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

AHEAD Institute on E-Text Production: - Lab: Preparation and Distribution of E-Books and E-Text materials
November 9, 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
November 9, 1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Robert Todd
Georgia Tech/CATEA
robert.todd@catea.org

Marsha Allen
Georgia Tech/CATEA
marsha.allen@coa.gatech.edu

The User Experience: Accessibility and Usability in the Online Environment
November 10, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.


Terry Thompson
AccessIT
tft@u.washington.edu

Lab: Creating Accessible Web Navigation Systems
November 8, 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m

Universal Design and Web Accessibility: Unexpected Beneficiaries
November 10, 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.


Johnathan Whiting
WebAim
jonathan@cpd2.usu.edu

Lab: Creating accessible PDF files using Adobe Acrobat
November 11, 10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.


Johnathan Whiting
WebAim
jonathan@cpd2.usu.edu

Paul Bohman
WebAim
paul@webaim.org

Lab: The Next Generation of Web Accessibility: Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust (POUR) Session 1: Principles of a POUR Web site
November 9, 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon

Lab: The Next Generation of Web Accessibility: Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust (POUR) Session 2: Techniques for a POUR Web site
Novermber 9, 1:30 p.m. 4:30 p. m..


Damien Wimbush
CSUN
damien.wimbush@csun.ed

Training Programs Offered by the Center on Disabilities
November 11, 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.

 


For more information contact Disability Services at 303-492-8671 (v/tty), fax: 303-492-5601, or e-mail us at dsinfo@colorado.edu