Assistive Technology and Accessible Media: Sixth Annual Conference
University of Colorado at Boulder CU Home Search the CU site A to Z index CU Map

Conference Follow-Up Page
About the Conference
Conference Schedule
Main Conference Agenda
Transportation & Accommodations
Registration and Fees
Vendor Information
Resources
AT Conference Home
Disability Services Home

Speakers and Handouts

James Bailey - Adaptive Technology Advisor
University of Oregon
jbailey@darkwing.uoregon.edu

AT Services and Program Evaluation
1:15 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.


David Baquis
Accessibility Specialist
U.S. Access Board
baquis@access-board.gov

Transforming the 508 Experience in to an On-Campus Reality
November 11, 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.


Kasim Selcuk Candan - Assistant Professor
Arizona State University
candan@asu.edu

Mehmet Emin Donderler - Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Arizona State University
mehmet.donderler@asu.edu

Adaptive Content Delivery to Assist Blind Students in Accessing Course Materials
November 13, 3:45 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.


Alan Cantor - President
Cantor + Associates Inc.

Improving Access to Windows Using Macro Software
November 11, 1:00 p.m - 5:00 p.m.

Lab: Introduction to Keyboard-only Access to Windows
November 14, 7:45 a.m. - 11:15 A.M.


Nicole Coleman
University of Colorado - Boulder
Nicole.coleman@colorado.edu

Accessble Web-CT
November 13, 9:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Lab: Accessibility Using DreamWeaver
7:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.


Dan Comden
Adaptive Technology Consultant
University of Washington
danc@u.washington.edu
http://staff.washington.edu/danc/

Research On Web Accessibility In Higher Education
November 14, 7:45 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.


Daryle Crouse
President
Communication Access Network, Inc
daryl@caninterpreters.com

Distance Video Sign Language Interpreting
November 13, 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.


David Dunbar
Chief Regional Attorney
US Dept. of Ed, OCR, Denver
dave.dunbar@ed.gov

Tom Rock
Attorney
US Dept. of Ed, OCR, Denver

Consideration of the Legal Responsibility for 504 and the ADA for Adaptive Technology
November 13, 3:45 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.


EASI

Blackboard a Study in Accessibility and Usability
November 14, 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.


Beth Finke
NPR Commentator & Author
finke@mindspring.com
finke@mindspring.com

Keynote Address
Thursday, November 13, 8:15 a.m. - 9:00 a.m


Geoff Freed
National Center for Accessible Media (NCAM)
geoff_freed@wgbh.org

Andrew Kirkpatrick
National Center for Accessible Media (NCAM)
Andrew_Kirkpatrick@wgbh.org

Stella Perez
The League for Innovation in the Community College
perez@league.org

NCAM and 'The League' - an Accessibility Forum
November 12, 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Robert Gattis
President
RM DBTAC
rhgattis@mtc-inc.com

Chisti Harris
Information Technologist
RM DBTAC
charris@mtc-inc.com

Accessibility Survey of post-Secondary Online Courseware
November 13, 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.


Jon Gunderson
Coordinator
UIUC
jongund@uiuc.edu

Microsoft Office Accessible Web Publishing Wizard
November 13, 1:15 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.


Sean Keegan
Web Accessibility Training Specialist/Instructor
High Tech Center Training Unit
skeegan@ginko.htctu.fhda.edu

Lab: Delivering Accessible PDF Documents with Adobe Applications
November 13, 1:15 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.


Susan M. Kelmer
Coordinator, Campus Labs and Classrooms
St. Louis Community College
skelmer@stlcc.edu

Text to Speech for Everyone
2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Kath Kilcommons
Assistive Technology Support and Web Accessibility Coordinator
C olorado State University
cath.kilcommons@CAHS.Colostate.edu

Jill Lenz
Instructional Technology Lab Coordinator
Colorado State University
jill.lenz@colostate.edu

Lab: Tips for Trainers: Incorporating Accessibility Tips into Common Application
November 13, 9:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.


Ken Kozar
University of Colorado - Boulder
Kenneth.Kozar@Colorado.EDU

Howard Kramer
Coordinator Assistive Technology Lab
University of Colorado - Boulder
Howard.Kramer@colorado.edu

Zuhair T. Mah'd
Nattiq Technologies
zuhair@nattiq.com

Panel: Spreading the Message Teaching Designing for Disabilities
November 13, 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.


Alison Lingane
Senior Product Manage
Benetech

Bookshare.org in and out of the classroom
November 15, 10:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.


Glen Low
WebCT
Glen.Low@webct.com

EASI: WebCT and Section 508 Web Standards
November 14, 10:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.



Karen McCall
Owner
Karlen Communications
martha@iprimus.ca,

Building Blocks of Instructional Design, Best Practices Toward Accessibility
November 12, 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Does It Have to Spin?" A Best Practices Framework for Distributed Education
November 13, 1:15 p.m. - 2:15 p.m


Marlene McIntosh
Learning Strategist/Assistive Devices Technician
Cambrian College
mrmcintosh@cambrianc.on.ca

Teaching Assistive Technology to Students with Learning Disabilities
November 14, 7:45 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.


Bob Regan
Senior Product Manager for Accessibility
Macromedia
bregan@macromedia.com

Accessible Flash Techniques
November 13, 9:45 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.

Lab: HTML Accessibility with Macromedia Dreamweaver and Macromedia Contribute
November 13, 1:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.


John Slatin
Director, Institute for Technology & Learning
University of Texas at Aus tin (UTA)
jslatin@mail.utexas.edu

Jim Allan
Statewide Technical Support Specialist
Texas Shool for the Blind and VI
jimallan@tsbvi.edu

Achieving Web Accessibility with Section 508
November 12, 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Accessible Practices When Using Cascading Style Sheets
November 14, 10:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.


Scott Standifer Ph.D.
Instructional Designer, Media Specialist
University of Missouri
standifers@missouri.edu

Diana Ratliff
Web Accessibility Specialist
University of Missouri
ratliffd@missouri.edu

Creating a Web Accessibility Policy: Voices from the Field
November 14, 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.


Ron Stewart
Director
Oregon State University
Ron.Stewart@orst.edu

Distance Education and Individuals with Disabilities
November 14, 7:45 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.


Chuck Wright
Director, Western Regional Sales
Freedom Scientific
charlesw@freedomscientific.com

High-Tech Solutions for Blind and Visually Impaired
9:45 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.


Mary Zabel
Director, Disability Resource Center
Univeristy of Nevada
mzabel@unr.edu

Mary Anne Christensen
Coordinator, Disability Resource Center
Univeristy of Nevada
maryac@unr.edu

Creating Electronic Text Using Adobe Acrobat Capture: Student Benefits, Institutional Issues and Future Sharing
November 13, 3:45 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.


For more information contact Disability Services at 303-492-8671 (v/tty), fax: 303-492-5601, or e-mail us at dsinfo@colorado.edu